Steven Brust is an American author of science fiction and fantasy. He is best known for his Vlad Taltos series of novels that focus on Vlad who is a human minority working as an assassin in a dangerous world called Dragaera that is filled with magically-empowered Dragaerans who live for a long time. In addition to his writing, he is also a musician who is a member of the band Cats Laughing.

Brust was born and raised in Minnesota by his family who work as Hungarian labor organizers. Brust was a computer programmer in addition to his work as a musician before he broke out as a writer. His first novel, The Book of Jhereg, was the debut of Vlad Taltos and broke him out as a writer.

Get notified when Steven Brust releases a new book at

Publication Order of Vlad Taltos Books

(with Architects Adventure)

Publication Order of Dragaera Books

(with Architects Adventure)

Brokedown Palace (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Incrementalists Books

The Incrementalists (2013)Description / Buy at
Fireworks in the Rain (2013)Description / Buy at
The Skill of Our Hands (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Khaavren Romances Books

The Phoenix Guards (1991)Description / Buy at
Five Hundred Years After (1994)Description / Buy at
The Paths of the Dead (2002)Description / Buy at
The Lord of Castle Black (2003)Description / Buy at
Sethra Lavode (2004)Description / Buy at
The Baron of Magister Valley (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

To Reign In Hell (1984)Description / Buy at
The Sun, the Moon, and the Stars (1987)Description / Buy at
Cowboy Feng's Space Bar and Grill (1990)Description / Buy at
The Gypsy (With: Megan Lindholm) (1992)Description / Buy at
Agyar (1993)Description / Buy at
Freedom and Necessity (With: Emma Bull) (1997)Description / Buy at
My Own Kind of Freedom: A Firefly Novel (2008)Description / Buy at
Good Guys (2018)Description / Buy at
The Sword of Happenstance (With: Skyler White) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crossroads Adventure Books

(with Jody Lynn Nye, Matthew J. Costello, Architects Adventure)

Dzurlord A Crossroads Adventure (With: Architects Adventure) (1987)Description / Buy at
Revolt on Majipoor (By: Matthew J. Costello) (1987)Description / Buy at
Dragonharper (By: Jody Lynn Nye) (1987)Description / Buy at
Prospero's Isle: A Crossroads Adventure in the World of L. Sprague De Camp and Fletcher Pratt's Incomplete Enchanter (By: Tom Wham) (1987)Description / Buy at
Warhorn: In The World Of Lynn Abbey's Rifkind, Daughter Of The Bright Moon (By: Dana Kramer) (1987)Description / Buy at
Encyclopedia of Xanth (By: Jody Lynn Nye) (1987)Description / Buy at
Seven No-Trump (By: Neil Randall) (1988)Description / Buy at
Dragonfire: McCaffrey's Pern (By: Jody Lynn Nye) (1988)Description / Buy at
Ghost of a Chance (By: Jody Lynn Nye) (1988)Description / Buy at
Fate's Trick (By: Matthew J. Costello) (1988)Description / Buy at
Storm of Dust: Take Bath-Cn (By: Neil Randall) (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

First Annual Collection(1988)Description / Buy at
Demons & Dreams: The Best Fantasy and Horror 1(1988)Description / Buy at
Dreamforge Magazine: Tales of Hope in the Universe; Volume 1(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Steven Brust Books, You’ll Love…

Vlad Taltos debuts in Jhereg. He is an assassin and mobster living in the magical world of Dragaera in the city of Adrilankha. This book sees him get a very difficult contract to assassinate a former member of the Jhereg Council who ran off with nine million of the House’s funds. The book is a great start to building the world of Dragaera and all of its intricacies.

Another good book by Brust is the standalone novel Good Guys. The book starts with Donovan getting shot by a cop. For jaywalking, but its more likely because he was arguing with a cop while black. Four of the nine shots he took were lethal, but he survives because of his unique powers. Upon discovering this, he’s scooped up by The Foundation who wish to train him further. The same is true for Marci who levitated a paperweight at the age of fifteen to throw it at someone. Susan received the same training before she even knew magic was real. The group all work for the Foundation because they believe they are the good guys, but what if they aren’t?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steven Brust Books

Leave a Reply