Susan Allott is an English author of crime fiction and historical fiction novels. She always wanted to be an author, ever since the first time she received praise from a teacher. In her late twenties, she finally began looking at living out her dream of becoming a writer by enrolling in a correspondence course. It ended up with a short story that was later incorporated into her debut novel, The Silence. Susan writes full-time and lives in London with her husband and children.

Susan Allott made her debut as a novelist in 2020 with The Silence. Below is a list of Susan Allott’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Susan Allott releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Silence (2020)Description / Buy at
The House on Rye Lane (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susan Allott Books, You’ll Love…

Susan Allott Synopsis: The Silence is a standalone novel by Susan Allott. It is 1997, and in a basement flat in Hackney, Isla Green is awakened by a call in the middle of the night: her father phoning from Sydney. Thirty years prior, in the blistering heat of summer 1967, the Greens’ next-door neighbour Mandy disappeared. At the time, it was thought she had fled a broken marriage and gone to start anew; but now Mandy’s family is trying to reconnect, and there is no trace of her. Isla’s father Joe was allegedly the last person to see her alive, and now he’s under suspicion of murder.

Isla unwillingly plans to go back to Australia for the first time in a decade to support her father. The return to Sydney will plunge Isla deep into the past, to a quiet street by the sea where two couples live side by side. Isla’s parents, Louisa and Joe, have recently emigrated from England – a move that has left Louisa miserably homesick while Joe embraces this new life. Next door, Steve and Mandy are equally troubled. Mandy doesn’t want a baby, even though Steve – a cop trying to hold it together under the pressures of the job – is desperate to become a father.

The more Isla asks about the past, the more she learns: about both young couples and the secrets each marriage bore. Could her father be capable of doing something terrible? How much does her mother know? What will happen to their family if Isla’s worst fears are realized? And is there another secret in this community, one which goes deeper into Australia’s colonial past, which has held them in a conspiracy of silence?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Allott Books

Leave a Reply