Susan Meissner is an American author of historical fiction. She is best known for writing the Rachel Flynn Mysteries series as well as numerous standalone novels. Meissner is a former RITA finalist, as well as a Christy Award and Carol Award winner.

She is a native of California and attended Point Loma Nazarene University. In addition to her work as an author, Susan volunteers time hosting a writing workshop for Words Alive, a San Diego non-profit dedicated to helping at-risk youth.

Get notified when Susan Meissner releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rachael Flynn Books

Widows & Orphans (2006)Description / Buy at
Sticks & Stones (2007)Description / Buy at
Days & Hours (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

Pumpkin Day at the Zoo (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Why the Sky Is Blue (2004)Description / Buy at
A Window to the World (2005)Description / Buy at
The Remedy for Regret (2005)Description / Buy at
In All Deep Places (2006)Description / Buy at
A Seahorse in the Thames (2006)Description / Buy at
The Shape of Mercy (2008)Description / Buy at
Blue Heart Blessed (2008)Description / Buy at
White Picket Fences (2009)Description / Buy at
Lady in Waiting (2010)Description / Buy at
A Sound Among the Trees (2011)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Glass (2012)Description / Buy at
A Fall of Marigolds (2014)Description / Buy at
Secrets of a Charmed Life (2015)Description / Buy at
Stars Over Sunset Boulevard (2016)Description / Buy at
A Bridge Across the Ocean (2017)Description / Buy at
As Bright as Heaven (2018)Description / Buy at
The Last Year of the War (2019)Description / Buy at
The Nature of Fragile Things (2021)Description / Buy at
When We Had Wings (With: Ariel Lawhon,Kristina McMorris) (2022)Description / Buy at
Only the Beautiful (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susan Meissner Books, You’ll Love…

Widows & Orphans is the first book in the Rachel Flynn Mysteries series. The book begins as lawyer Rachel Flynn is begging her brother to let him represent him in court. Her ministry-minded brother Joshua has confessed to murder, but she is certain that he is innocent. However, he refuses her counsel. That doesn’t deter Rachel though who works on the case. As she investigates, she begins to suspect that her brother knows who the real killer is, but he won’t cooperate. Why won’t he talk? What does he have to hide? And why is he hiding it? The conclusion will stun you.

The Nature of Fragile Things is one of the many standalone books by Susan Meissner. The story follows an Irish immigrant named Sophie Whalen who answers an ad for a mail-order bride and heads to San Francisco. Her husband is handsome, but aloof with a lot of odd behavior. She does manage to grow close with his silent five-year-old daughter, Kat. Then one morning, Sophie discovers hidden ties to two other women. One of them is pregnant and standing outside her door, while the other is hundreds of miles away. The three women’s fates intertwine on the eve of a devastating earthquake which puts them on a perilous journey that will test their resolve and their belief in love.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Meissner Books

Leave a Reply