Susanna Clarke is an English author of fantasy and alternate history novels. She was born in Nottingham, and moved around Northern England and Scotland during her childhood. She was educated at St. Hilda’s College, Oxford, and went on to work in non-fiction publishing. After leaving England to teach English, she later returned, and began writing Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Susanna lives in Cambridge, England with her partner, novelist/reviewer Colin Greenland.

Susanna Clarke made her debut as a novelist in 2004 with the aforementioned novel Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Below is a list of Susanna Clarke’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Susanna Clarke releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell (2004)Description / Buy at
Piranesi (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Year's Best Fantasy & Horror: Tenth Annual Collection(1996)Description / Buy at
Starlight 1(1996)Description / Buy at
Black Swan, White Raven(1997)Description / Buy at
Starlight 2(1998)Description / Buy at
Black Heart, Ivory Bones(2000)Description / Buy at
Mr. Simonelli or the Fairy Widower(2000)Description / Buy at
Starlight 3(2001)Description / Buy at
Fourteenth Annual Collection(2001)Description / Buy at
Fifteenth Annual Collection(2002)Description / Buy at
The Secret History of Fantasy(2010)Description / Buy at
Happily Ever After(2011)Description / Buy at
Inviting Interruptions: Wonder Tales in the Twenty-First Century(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susanna Clarke Books, You’ll Love…

Susanna Clarke Synopsis: Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell is a standalone novel by Susanna Clarke. At the beginning of the nineteenth century, two very different magicians emerge to change England’s history. In the year 1806, with the Napoleonic Wars ongoing at both land and sea, most people believe magic to be a thing of the past in England – until the reclusive Mr. Norrell reveals his powers, and becomes an overnight celebrity.

Soon, another practicing magician comes forth – the young, handsome, and daring Jonathan Strange. He becomes Norrell’s student, and they team up in the war against France. But Strange is increasingly drawn to the wildest, most perilous forms of magic, straining his partnership with Norrell, and putting at risk everything else he holds dear.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susanna Clarke Books

Leave a Reply