Tom Corcoran
Tom Corcoran is an American author of mystery novels and non-fiction books. Corcoran has lived in Florida since 1970. Before becoming an author, he worked as a disc jockey, bartender, travel counselor, navy officer, screenwriter, freelance photographer, magazine editor, computer graphic artist and journalist. He has written multiple books on muscle cars and written a book on personal friend Jimmy Buffett. He writes the Alex Rutledge mystery series.

Tom Corcoran was first published in 1992 with the non-fiction book Shelby Mustang. His debut foray into fiction was The Mango Opera, published in 1998. Below is a list of Tom Corcoran’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Alex Rutledge Mystery Books

The Mango Opera (1998)Description / Buy at
Gumbo Limbo (1999)Description / Buy at
Bone Island Mambo (2001)Description / Buy at
Octopus Alibi (2003)Description / Buy at
Air Dance Iguana (2005)Description / Buy at
Hawk Channel Chase (2009)Description / Buy at
The Quick Adios (2012)Description / Buy at
Guava Moon Revenge (2018)Description / Buy at
The Cayo Hueso Maze (2020)Description / Buy at
A Step Beyond Chaos (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Crime Almost Pays (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Triple in Paradise (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Mustang '64 1/2-'70 Restoration Guide (1992)Description / Buy at
Shelby Mustang (1992)Description / Buy at
Hoofbeats: The Pulse of the Mustang World (1994)Description / Buy at
Mustang 1964 1/2-1968 (1994)Description / Buy at
Mustang 1964 1/2-'73 Restoration Guide (1999)Description / Buy at
Key West Collection (1999)Description / Buy at
Muscle Car Legends (2002)Description / Buy at
Ultimate Muscle: GTO Shelby Mustang Hemi (2002)Description / Buy at
Jimmy Buffett: The Key West Years (2006)Description / Buy at
Key West in Black and White (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Café(2002)Description / Buy at
Miami Noir(2006)Description / Buy at
A Merry Band of Murderers(2006)Description / Buy at
Florida Heat Wave(2010)Description / Buy at

Notes: Key West Collection was written with Dorothy Raymer. Muscle Car Legends and Ultimate Muscle were co-authored by Anthony Young and Paul Zazarine.

If You Like Tom Corcoran Books, You’ll Love…

Tom Corcoran Synopses: The Mango Opera by Tom Corcoran is the first Alex Rutledge novel. Alex Rutledge is a freelance photographer who will often shoot crime scenes for the police department in Key West. But the easy island life is no more after a string of murders of women who Rutledge has had relations with. This puts Alex Rutledge as the top suspect in the case. The case heats up so much that the sheriff, FBI and ATF have had their interest piqued. In order to clear his name, Alex does his own investigation to uncover the truth of who the killer is.

Gumbo Limbo is book 2 in the Alex Rutledge series by Tom Corcoran. Alex has an off-day, and awakes to a phone call from old navy buddy Zack Cahill. Cahill wants to have a beer, but when Alex shows up, Zack is not there. A murder in the tourist district, a bartender’s apartment ransacked and a meeting with a former mistress lead Alex to believe that the disappearance of his navy buddy is connected. A fire overnight and a morning drive-by raise the stakes even more.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tom Corcoran Books

One Response to “Order of Tom Corcoran Books”

  1. Mary Anne: 2 years ago

    Need more Alex Rutledge books!


Leave a Reply