Trudy Nan Boyce is an American author of crime fiction novels. She writes the Detective Sarah Alt series. Trudy earned her Ph.D. in community counseling, and then joined the police department in Atlanta, Georgia. She spent over three decades in the department – including as a beat cop, homicide detective, senior hostage negotiator, and lieutenant. Trudy is now retired from the police department. She lives and writes in Atlanta.

Trudy Nan Boyce made her debut as a novelist in 2016 with the novel Out of the Blues. Below is a list of Trudy Nan Boyce’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Trudy Nan Boyce releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Sarah Alt Books

Out of the Blues (2016)Description / Buy at
Old Bones (2017)Description / Buy at
The Policeman's Daughter (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Trudy Nan Boyce Books, You’ll Love…

Trudy Nan Boyce Synopsis: Out of the Blues by Trudy Nan Boyce is the first book in the Detective Sarah Alt series. Upon assignment to homicide, Sarah “Salt” Alt is given the cold-case murder of a blues musician whose death was originally ruled an accidental drug overdose. Now new evidence has come to light that he may have been given a hot dose intentionally. And this evidence comes from a convicted felon hoping to trade his knowledge for shortened prison time… a man who Salt helped put behind bars.

In a search that will take her into the depths of Atlanta’s secrets – among the city’s homeless, its politically powerful churches, commerce and industry, and the police department itself – Salt probes her way toward the truth in a case that has more at stake than she ever could have imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Trudy Nan Boyce Books

Leave a Reply