Vaddey Ratner
Vaddey Ratner is a Cambodian-American author of literary fiction novels. She is a Khmer Rouge genocide survivor and a war refugee. Vaddey is a New York Times bestselling author for the novel In the Shadow of the Banyan. The novel was a finalist for multiple prestigious awards, was selected for the National Endowment for the Arts Big Read program 2015-2016. Her books have been translated into twenty languages.

Vaddey Ratner made her debut as a published novelist in 2012 with the novel In The Shadow of the Banyan. Below is a list of Vaddey Ratner’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Vaddey Ratner releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Shadow of the Banyan (2012)Description / Buy at
Music of the Ghosts (2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Vaddey Ratner Books, You’ll Love…

Vaddey Ratner Synopsis: In the Shadow of the Banyan is a standalone title by Vaddey Ratner. For a young girl named Raami, the shattering end of childhood begins with the footsteps of her father returning home in the early dawn hours bringing details of the civil war that has overwhelmed the streets of Phnom Penh, the capitol of Cambodia. Soon the family’s world of carefully guarded royal privilege is swept up in the chaos of revolution and forced exodus. Over the next few years, as she lives through the deaths of family members, starvation, and brutal forced labour, Raami clings to what’s left of her childhood – the mythical legends and poems told to her by her father. In a climate of systematic violence where memory is sickness and justification for execution, Raami fights for her improbable survival.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Vaddey Ratner Books

Leave a Reply