Victor LaValle is an American author of science fiction and horror novels. He earned his English degree from Cornell University, and his MFA in Fiction from Columbia University. Victor has been a fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center. He has also won multiple awards, including a Whiting Writers’ Award, a United States Artists Ford Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship and the key to Southeast Queens. Victor lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Victor LaValle made his debut as a published author in 1999 with the short story collection Slapboxing with Jesus. His first novel was The Ecstatic, published in 2002. Below is a list of Victor LaValle’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Victor LaValle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Victor LaValle's Destroyer Books

Publication Order of Sabretooth (2022) Books

Sabretooth: The Adversary (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Lucretia and the Kroons (2012)Description / Buy at
The Ballad of Black Tom (2016)Description / Buy at
Ancient History (2016)Description / Buy at
Up from Slavery (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Slapboxing with Jesus (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Black Stars Books

The Visit (By: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) (2021)Description / Buy at
These Alien Skies (By: C.T. Rwizi) (2021)Description / Buy at
We Travel the Spaceways (2021)Description / Buy at
2043...(A Merman I Should Turn to Be) (By: Nisi Shawl) (2021)Description / Buy at
The Black Pages (By: Nnedi Okorafor) (2021)Description / Buy at
Clap Back (By: Nalo Hopkinson) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary Books

Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #1 (With: Ben Meares) (2014)Description / Buy at
Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #2 (By: Ben Meares,Christopher Taylor) (2014)Description / Buy at
Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #3 (By: Ben Meares,Michael Adams) (2014)Description / Buy at
Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #4 (By: Lela Gwenn) (2014)Description / Buy at
Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #5 (By: Michael Moreci,Ben Meares) (2014)Description / Buy at
Clive Barker's Hellraiser: Bestiary #6 (By: Christopher Sebela,Ben Meares) (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eve Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Scoot Over, Skinny: The Fat Nonfiction Anthology(2005)Description / Buy at
The Darker Mask(2008)Description / Buy at
Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond(2013)Description / Buy at
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Two Cities: The Best and Worst of Times In Today's New York(2014)Description / Buy at
Long Hidden(2014)Description / Buy at
Weird Tales #363: The Return of The Magazine That Never Dies(2019)Description / Buy at
Lovecraft Mythos New & Classic Collection(2020)Description / Buy at
Fight of the Century(2020)Description / Buy at
Miscreations(2020)Description / Buy at
Wonder and Glory Forever(2020)Description / Buy at
Chiral Mad 5(2022)Description / Buy at
Qualia Nous: Vol. 2(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: A People’s Future of the United States was edited with John Joseph Adams.

If You Like Victor LaValle Books, You’ll Love…

Victor LaValle Synopsis: Big Machine is a standalone novel by Victor LaValle. Ricky Rice is a medicore hustler with a lingering junk habit, a bad knee, and a haunted mind. A survivor of a suicide cult, he scrapes by as a porter at a bus depot in Utica, New York, until one day a mysterious letter arrives, summoning him to enlist in a band of paranormal investigators comprised of former addicts and petty criminals, all of whom had at some point in their wasted lives heard what may have been the voice of God.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Victor LaValle Books

Leave a Reply