William Gay (1941-2012) was an American author of Southern literature. From Hohenwald, Tennessee, Gay joined the U.S. Navy and served in the Vietnam War. Upon returning back to the States, he lived in New York and Chicago before going back to Tennessee (where he would remain). He wrote from the age of 15 onwards, but didn’t get anything published until 1998.

William Gay made his debut as a published novelist in 1999 with the novel The Long Home. It won the 1999 James A. Michener Memorial Prize. Below is a list of William Gay’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Long Home (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Provinces of Night (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twilight (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Little Sister Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stoneburner (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Country (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fugitives of the Heart (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

I Hate to See That Evening Sun Go Down (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wittgenstein's Lolita and The Iceman (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stories from the Attic (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Poetry Books

Time Done Been Won't Be No More (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Café(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Alumni Grill(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stories from the Blue Moon Caf III(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Anchor Book of New American Short Stories(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe V(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Psychos(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The Alumni Grill was co-edited with Suzanne Kingsbury.

If You Like William Gay Books, You’ll Love…

William Gay Synopsis: Twilight is a standalone title by William Gay. Feeling not everything is right with his father’s burial, teenager Kenneth Tyler and his sister Corrie head to his gravesite and make a horrific discovery: their father, a whiskey bootlegger, was not actually buried in the casket they bought for him. Worse, they learn that the undertaker, Fenton Breece, has been grotesquely manipulating the dead. Armed with incriminating photographs, Tyler becomes obsessed with bringing the perverse undertaker to justice. But first he must outrun Granville Sutter, a local strongman and convicted murderer hired by Fenton to destroy the evidence. What follows is an adventure through the Harrikin, an eerie backwoods filled with tangled roads, rusted machinery, and eccentric squatters – old men, witches, and families among them – who both shield and imperil Tyler as he runs for safety.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William Gay Books

Leave a Reply