Tom Franklin is an American author of Southern literature and crime fiction novels. Tom was born and raised in Alabama. He earned his B.A. from the University of South Alabama and M.F.A. from the University of Arkansas. While being a struggling writer, he worked as a heavy-equipment operator in a grit factory, a construction inspector in a chemical plant and a clerk in a hospital morgue. Tom lives in Oxford, Mississippi with his wife, poet Beth Ann Fennelly, and their children.

Tom Franklin made his debut as a published author with the short story collection Poachers. In 2003, he published his debut novel, Hell at the Breech. Below is a list of Tom Franklin’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Tom Franklin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hell at the Breech (2003)Description / Buy at
Smonk (2006)Description / Buy at
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter (2009)Description / Buy at
The Tilted World (With: Beth Ann Fennelly) (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mobile Bay Tales(1991)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 1999(1999)Description / Buy at
Stories from the Blue Moon Café(2002)Description / Buy at
Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II(2003)Description / Buy at
The Alumni Grill II(2005)Description / Buy at
Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe V(2006)Description / Buy at
The New Granta Book of the American Short Story(2007)Description / Buy at
Delta Blues(2009)Description / Buy at
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2011(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder Under the Oaks(2015)Description / Buy at
Mississippi Noir(2016)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2016(2016)Description / Buy at
Alabama Noir(2020)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Tilted World was written with Beth Ann Fennelly. The Alumni Grill was edited with Beth Ann Fennelly.

If You Like Tom Franklin Books, You’ll Love…

Tom Franklin Synopsis: Hell at the Breech is a standalone title by Tom Franklin. In 1897, an aspiring politician is mysteriously murdered in the rural area of Alabama known as Mitcham Beat. His outraged friends – who were largely poor cotton farmers – form a secret society, Hell-at-the-Breech, to punish the townspeople they believe responsible. The hooded members wage a bloody year-long campaign of terror that culminates in a massacre where the innocent suffer alongside the guilty. Caught in the maelstrom of the Mitcham war are four people: the aging sheriff sympathetic to both sides; the widowed midwife who delivered nearly every member of Hell-at-the-Breech; a ruthless detective who wages his own war against the gang; and a young store clerk who harbors a terrible secret.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tom Franklin Books

Leave a Reply