William Harrington (1931-2000) was an American author of mystery and thriller novels. He wrote the Columbo series (based on the television series). Harrington claimed that as a ghostwriter, he wrote novels as Harold Robbins, Margaret Truman and Elliott Roosevelt. His agent said his role was more as a research collaborator. Besides being a novelist, Harrington also taught a history class at the Greenwich Senior Center and debated current events and history with Parsonage Cottage residents. Harrington was married twice and had an adopted son.

William Harrington made his debut as a published author in 1963 with the novel Which the Justice, Which the Thief. Below is a list of William Harrington’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Columbo (Tor) Books

The Grassy Knoll (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Helter Skelter Murders (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hoffa Connection (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Game Show Killer (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Glitter Murders (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hoover Files (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Which the Justice, Which the Thief (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Power / Gospel of Death (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Yoshar the Soldier / One Over One (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Trial (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Search for Elisabeth Brandt (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Jupiter Crisis (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Scorpio 5 (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mister Target (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Partners (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The English Lady (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Skin Deep (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cromwell File (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Oberst (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
For the Defense (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Virus (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Endgame in Berlin (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Town on Trial (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The 1945 Revolution (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Murder at the President’s Door was ghostwritten as Elliott Roosevelt. The Power was also titled The Gospel of Death. Yoshar the Soldier was also published as One Over One.

If You Like William Harrington Books, You’ll Love…

In Virus by William Harrington, techie Darius Whitney resents the way a conglomerate has swallowed up the company he worked so hard to build. He decides to seek revenge using the skills he has: by putting a virus in their reservation system, throwing the airline into chaos.

Town on Trial is a standalone title by William Harrington. In this courtroom drama, a famous New York socialite is accused of murdering her lover – a local congressman, at his West Virginia retreat. Will she get the death penalty?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William Harrington Books

Leave a Reply