Mary Stanton Claudia Bishop
Mary Stanton is an American author of children’s fantasy novels and mystery novels. She started out working as a copywriter for Xerox and for her own company, until she sold her business and left in order to write on a full-time basis. Under her real name, she writes the Unicorns of Balinor series and the Beaufort & Company series. As Claudia Bishop, she writes the Hemlock Falls Mysteries.

Mary Stanton debuted as a published author in 1988 with the novel The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West. The following year, she came out with the sequel Piper at the Gate. She made her debut as Claudia Bishop in 1994 with A Taste For Murder. Below is a list of Mary Stanton’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Mary Stanton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Heavenly Horse Books

The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West (1988)Description / Buy at
Piper at the Gate (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hemlock Falls Mysteries Books

(as Claudia Bishop)

A Taste for Murder (1994)Description / Buy at
A Dash of Death (1995)Description / Buy at
A Pinch of Poison (1995)Description / Buy at
Murder Well-Done (1996)Description / Buy at
Death Dines Out (1997)Description / Buy at
A Touch of the Grape (1998)Description / Buy at
A Steak in Murder (1999)Description / Buy at
Marinade for Murder (2000)Description / Buy at
Just Desserts (2002)Description / Buy at
Fried by Jury (2003)Description / Buy at
A Puree of Poison (2003)Description / Buy at
Buried by Breakfast (2004)Description / Buy at
A Dinner to Die For (2006)Description / Buy at
Ground to a Halt (2007)Description / Buy at
A Carol for a Corpse (2007)Description / Buy at
A Plateful of Murder (2009)Description / Buy at
Toast Mortem (2010)Description / Buy at
Dread on Arrival (2012)Description / Buy at
A Fete Worse Than Death (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Magical Mysteries Books

My Aunt, the Monster (1997)Description / Buy at
White Magic (1997)Description / Buy at
Next Door Witch (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Unicorns Of Balinor Books

The Road to Balinor (1988)Description / Buy at
Sunchaser's Quest (1999)Description / Buy at
Valley of Fear (1999)Description / Buy at
By Fire, By Moonlight (1999)Description / Buy at
Search for the Star (1999)Description / Buy at
The Secrets of the Scepter (2000)Description / Buy at
Night of the Shifter's Moon (2000)Description / Buy at
Shadows Over Balinor (2000)Description / Buy at
Unicorns of Balinor (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Casebook Of Dr. McKenzie Books

(as Claudia Bishop)

The Case of the Roasted Onion (2006)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Tough-Talking Turkey (2007)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Ill-Gotten Goat (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Beaufort & Company Mysteries Books

Defending Angels (2008)Description / Buy at
Angel's Advocate (2009)Description / Buy at
Avenging Angels (2010)Description / Buy at
Angel's Verdict (2010)Description / Buy at
Angel Condemned (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

From Selma to Sorrow: The Life and Death of Viola Liuzzo (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of To Have and To Hold Books

Gilded Spring (By: Jenny Bates) (1983)Description / Buy at
Where The Heart Is (As:Claudia Bishop) (1984)Description / Buy at
Conquer the Memories (By: Jeanne Grant) (1984)Description / Buy at
Sunburst (By: Jeanne Grant) (1984)Description / Buy at
Trouble in Paradise (By: Jeanne Grant) (1984)Description / Buy at
That Champagne Feeling (As:Claudia Bishop) (1984)Description / Buy at
Fortune's Smile (By: Cassie Miles) (1984)Description / Buy at
Cupid's Confederates (By: Jeanne Grant) (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Death Dines at 8:30(2001)Description / Buy at
Death Dines In(2004)Description / Buy at
A Kudzu Christmas(2005)Description / Buy at
A Merry Band of Murderers(2006)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Hemlock Falls Mysteries and Casebook of Dr. McKenzie series are written as Claudia Bishop. All anthologies are edited as Claudia Bishop. Death Dines at 8:30 is co-edited by Nick DiChario. Death Dines In is co-edited by Dean James. A Merry Band of Murderers is co-edited by Don Bruns. Piper at the Gate was published as Piper at the Gates of Dawn in the United Kingdom.

If You Like Mary Burton Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Stanton Synopsis: In The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West by Mary Stanton, The Heavenly Horse’s mission is to prevent his breed from going extinct by the Dark Horse and the Harrier Hounds. Along with a band of companions, he will face the greatest evil imaginable.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Stanton Books

Leave a Reply