Yuri Rytkheu (1930-2008) was a Chukchi author of literary fiction novels. He is considered the father of Chukchi literature, and wrote both in Chukchi and Russian. He studied at Leningrad State University, and had some of his works published in periodicals. Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, the former Soviet states would no longer publish his works, as he was a member of the Communist Party. He considered moving to the U.S., but the Swiss publisher Unionsverlag signed Rytkheu, and introduced his works to various countries in Europe and Asia. Rytkheu passed away in 2008 from myeloma, and his buried next to his wife.

Not all of Yuri Rytkheu’s works have been translated in published in English. However, his Seedbank series has been translated by Ilona Yazhbin Chavasse. Below is a list of Yuri Rytkheu’s books in order of when they were originally published in their original language:

Publication Order of Seedbank Books

A Dream in Polar Fog (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When the Whales Leave (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Chukchi Bible (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

25 Stories from the Soviet Republics(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Yuri Rytkheu Books, You’ll Love…

  • Aviaq Johnston
  • Linda K. Hogan
  • Sten Nadolny

Yuri Rytkheu Synopsis: A Dream in Polar Fog by Yuri Rytkheu is the story of Canadian sailor John MacLennan, who is left behind by his ship, stranded on the northeastern tip of Siberia and the story of the Chukchi community that adopts this wounded stranger and teaches him to live as a true human being. As time goes on, John comes to know his new companions as a real people who share the best and worst of human traits with his own kind. Tragedy strikes, and wounds are healed with compassion and honesty as tensions rise and fall.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Yuri Rytkheu Books

Leave a Reply