Zen Cho is a Malaysian author who has won the Crawford, British Fantasy and Hugo Awards. She debuted as an author in 2015 with the novel Sorcerer to the Crown. She is also well known for her collection of short stories, 2014’s Spirits Abroad, and her second novel, The True Queen.

Cho was born and raised in Malaysia, but now makes her home in England. After her debut, she was a finalist for the Astounding Award for Best New Writer. She also received the British Fantasy Award for Best Newcomer for her debut novel Sorcerer to the Crown.

Get notified when Zen Cho releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Sorcerer Royal Books

The Perilous Life of Jade Yeo (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sorcerer to the Crown (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The True Queen (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Water Sister (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Friend Zone Experiment (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

Spirits Abroad (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Terracotta Bride (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again is available to read for free at B&N Reads.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bloody Fabulous(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Heiresses of Russ 2011: The Year's Best Lesbian Speculative Fiction(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Steam-Powered 2(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Aliens: Recent Encounters(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The End of the Road(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Future of Horror(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cyberpunk: Malaysia(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Apex Book of World SF 4(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Alphabet of Embers(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best of World SF, Volume 1(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
It Gets Even Better: Stories of Queer Possibility(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Someone in Time(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Zen Cho Books, You’ll Love…

Sorcerer to the Crown is the first book in the series of the same name. The book focuses on the Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers that is tasked with maintaining magic for His Majesty’s lands. The society has fallen onto hard times though as an unsuitable man has become their Sorcerer Royal and he’s misused the country’s stores of magic. Zacharias Whythe is at his wit’s end and decides to venture to the border of Fairyland to figure out what is going on. His adventure has him meeting up with Prunella Gentlewoman, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, and she sets him on a path which will change the very nature of sorcery in Britain.

Cho released The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water in the summer of 2020. This book sees a bandit taking a stop at a coffee house and then everything going downhill. Guet Imm is a votary of the Order of the Pure Moon who is about to go an adventure. They get linked up with a gang of eclectic thieves to protect a sacred object. That job is easy enough, but Guet soons finds herself in a far more complicated situation than she could have imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Zen Cho Books

Leave a Reply