Tamsyn Muir is a science fiction, horror, and fantasy author out of New Zealand. She is best known as the author of the Locked Tomb series of books which begins with the title, Gideon the Ninth.

In addition to her full length novels, Muir has also written numerous short fiction stories. Those stories have appeared in publications such as Nightmare Magazine, F&SF, Fantasy Magazine, Weird Tales, and Clarkesworld. She has received nominations for the Nebula Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, the World Fantasy Award and the Eugie Foster Memorial Award for her fiction writing. Muir is from New Zealand, but has also lived in Waiuku and Wellington in her life. She currently lives in Oxford where she also teaches.

Publication Order of The Locked Tomb Books

Gideon the Ninth (2019)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Harrow the Ninth (2020)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Princess Floralinda and the Forty-Flight Tower (2020)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Anthologies

Some of the Best from Tor.com: 2020 Edition(2021)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like Tamsyn Muir Books, You’ll Love…

Gideon the Ninth is the first book in the Locked Tomb trilogy. The book starts with a king in need of necromancers, the Ninth Necromancer needing a swordswoman, and Gideon. He has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for this nonsense. She has big plans to leave this world behind and packs up her things and begins planning her escape. The only problem is that the Ninth Necromancer is planning the ascension of Harrowhark Nonagesimus, an ascension that can only take place with Gideon and her sword. If Gideon doesn’t participate, Harrow will fail and the Ninth House will die.

The second book in the series is called Harrow the Ninth and this one focuses on Harrowhark Nonagesimus. The story of the Ninth House continues in this one in a book that is equal parts mystery, magic, and mayhem. Nothing is as it seems in the Ninth House and the fate of the galaxy is resting on the shoulders of Harrowhark. She is tasked with becoming an angel of death, but everything is working against her to do so and she’s starting to wonder if the world would be better off without her.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tamsyn Muir Books