A Series of Unfortunate Events is a series of children novels by American novelist Lemony Snicket (Daniel Handler). The series follows three children who have been placed in the care of a distant cousin named Count Olaf after their parents have tragically died in a fire. The first three books in the series have been adapted into a feature film (titled “Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events”) starring Jim Carrey.

A Series of Unfortunate Events began in 1999 with the novel The Bad Beginning. The series would run thirteen novels until The End (appropriately enough) in 2006. Each novel’s title is alliterated. Below is a complete list of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Lemony Snicket releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of A Series Of Unfortunate Events Books

The Bad Beginning(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Reptile Room(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wide Window(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Miserable Mill(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Austere Academy(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ersatz Elevator(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Vile Village(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hostile Hospital(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Carnivorous Carnival(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Slippery Slope(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grim Grotto(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Penultimate Peril(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The End(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of A Series Of Unfortunate Events Companion Books

Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blank Book(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Behind the Scenes with Count Olaf(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Notorious Notations(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Beatrice Letters(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Horseradish(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like A Series Of Unfortunate Events Books, You’ll Love…

A Series Of Unfortunate Events Synopses: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket is the first book in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series. Is death making you weak in the heart? Do you feel scared by fire? Is there a villain you could see in your nightmares in the future? Are evil plans appealing to you? Do you find cold porridge unpleasant? threatening threats? Hooks? Are your clothes uncomfortable?

Your responses will likely reveal that A Series of Unfortunate Events is not suitable for your use. You should be able to get recommendations for books that are better suited to your fragile personality from a friend, librarian, or bookseller. However, we advise the remaining readers to proceed with caution.

The Reptile Room is book 2 in A Series of Unfortunate Events. Sunny, Violet, and Klaus Baudelaire are smart kids. They have charming facial features, are resourceful, and are charming. Sadly, they are extremely unfortunate.

Only in the first two books do the three young people meet a villain who is avaricious and repulsive, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, a lumpy bed, a deadly serpent, a large brass reading lamp, a long knife, and a horrible smell.

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket is the third book in the series. Before reading any further, you should be aware of the following if you have not previously read anything about the Baudelaire orphans: unfortunately, although Violet, Klaus, and Sunny have kind hearts and quick wits, their lives are full of bad luck and misery. The stories about these three kids are all sad and awful, and this one might be the worst of all of them. This book will probably make you feel hopeless if you don’t have the stomach for a story with a hurricane, a signaling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny. You need to decide for yourself whether or not you can endure this awful story.

The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket is the fourth book in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series. Have you chosen to read this book out of a desire for a relaxing experience? If this is the case, it is strongly suggested that you put down this book right away. Of all the books that have been written about the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill may be the most unhappy. When Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, they discover that every log hides tragedy and misfortune. The pages of this book include unpleasant items such as a large pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke over his head where it should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident that injured someone, and coupons. If you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of A Series Of Unfortunate Events Books

Leave a Reply