Lemony Snicket is the pen name of American author Daniel Handler. Lemony Snicket is also a character who acts as a narrator in the novels he appears in. He is best known for the A Series of Unfortunate Events children’s series.

Daniel Handler’s first novel was The Basic Eight in 1999. The Lemony Snicket pseudonym would make its debut with The Bad Beginning (the first book in A Series of Unfortunate Events) that same year. Below is a list of Lemony Snicket’s books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Lemony Snicket releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of A Series Of Unfortunate Events Books

The Bad Beginning (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Reptile Room (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wide Window (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Miserable Mill (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Austere Academy (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ersatz Elevator (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Vile Village (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hostile Hospital (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Carnivorous Carnival (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Slippery Slope (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grim Grotto (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Penultimate Peril (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The End (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of A Series Of Unfortunate Events Companion Books

Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blank Book (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Behind the Scenes with Count Olaf (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Notorious Notations (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Beatrice Letters (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Horseradish (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of All the Wrong Questions Books

Who Could That Be at This Hour? (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When Did You See Her Last? (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shouldn't You Be in School? (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of All The Wrong Questions Collections

File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Composer Is Dead (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Poison for Breakfast (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Model Citizens (As: Daniel Handler) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Picture Books

Baby in the Manger (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Latke Who Couldn't Stop Screaming (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lump of Coal (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
13 Words (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dark (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
29 Myths on the Swinster Pharmacy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bad Mood and the Stick (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

It Was a Dark and Silly Night...(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Big Fat Little Lit(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Half-Minute Horrors(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Chronicles of Harris Burdick(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Who Done It?(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One Minute till Bedtime(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Creativity Project(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Wide Window was also published as Disappearance!. The Basic Eight, Watch Your Mouth, Adverbs and Why We Broke Up were written under his real name of Daniel Handler.

If You Like Lemony Snicket Books, You’ll Love…

Lemony Snicket Synopses: The Composer is Dead is a standalone novel. In this enigmatic tale of murder crafted by the renowned New York Times bestselling author Lemony Snicket, a complex web of motives and alibis intertwines with a cast of characters who are as curious as they are suspicious—each, quite unusually, embodying a musical instrument. Yet, despite the intricate puzzle, the undeniable truth remains: the composer is undeniably deceased.

As you delve into this captivating murder mystery, you’ll find yourself in the midst of a perplexing conundrum where everyone appears to harbor a motive, each presents an airtight alibi, and nearly all are seemingly linked to the world of music in intriguing ways. The allure of a well-orchestrated symphony is mirrored in the intricate dance of clues and misdirection, while the Inspector relentlessly seeks to peel back the layers of the puzzle, uncovering the truth.

You’re invited to test your own sleuthing skills as you accompany the Inspector in his relentless interrogation of the array of unusual suspects. As the plot unfolds, a distinctive and immersive audio recording awaits, a seamless fusion of Lemony Snicket’s narration and the evocative music composed by Nathaniel Stookey, performed by the San Francisco Symphony. This accompanying auditory experience transports you to the heart of that fateful, artful evening, providing an unparalleled perspective into the intricate world of sound and mystery.

Immerse yourself in a world where curiosity and suspicion converge, where every note and every word could hold a vital clue. Can you untangle the intricate threads of this perplexing musical murder and decipher the harmonious yet haunting truth that lies beneath? The composer’s fate is at your fingertips, waiting to be unraveled.

Poison for Breakfast is a standalone novel by Lemony Snicket. Throughout the illustrious years since the establishment of this esteemed publishing house, we have been privileged to collaborate with a diverse assembly of exceptional authors. These literary luminaries have expertly navigated the intricacies of our perplexing world, shedding light on its enigmas and complexities.

However, in a departure from the usual, we proudly present to you the enigmatic presence of Lemony Snicket. Over the expanse of his extensive and dubious career, Mr. Snicket has ventured into the depths of numerous inquiries, delving into realms of villainy, deception, intrigue, listlessness, and a curious assortment of incendiary incidents. Yet, in this remarkable volume, he turns his singular focus inward, embarking on a singularly peculiar endeavor—investigating his own demise.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lemony Snicket Books

One Response to “Order of Lemony Snicket Books”

  1. Libby: 10 years ago

    Fantaticalicious author! I can’t get enough.


Leave a Reply