Alcatraz by Brandon Sanderson
Alcatraz is a children’s fantasy series by American novelist Brandon Sanderson. The series follows a boy named Alcatraz Smedry, who is a foster child who receives a bag of sand in the mail that is apparently his inheritance from his parents. The sandbag is quickly stolen from him by the Evil Librarians. Although the publisher (Scholastic) recommends the light-hearted series for ages 8-13, the author himself recommends the books for children 10+.

Brandon Sanderson began his Alcatraz series in 2007 with the novel Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians. The books are 300 pages with larger print. The series is planned for five books. Below is a list of Brandon Sanderson’s Alcatraz books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Brandon Sanderson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Alcatraz Books

Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians(2007)Description / Buy at
Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener's Bones(2008)Description / Buy at
Alcatraz Versus the Knights of Crystallia(2009)Description / Buy at
Alcatraz Versus the Shattered Lens(2010)Description / Buy at
The Dark Talent(2016)Description / Buy at
Bastille vs. the Evil Librarians(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alcatraz Books, You’ll Love…

Alcatraz Synopsis: Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians is the first book in Brandon Sanderson’s Alcatraz series. Alcatraz Smedry is a boy destined for nothing but disaster. He turns 13 and receives a bag of sand for his birthday, which is quickly stolen by a cult of evil librarians known as the Evil Librarians (appropriately enough). The Librarians are trying to take over the world by spreading misinformation, and the sand will help them achieve their goal of world domination. Alcatraz must stop these Evil Librarians from infiltrating the library in town.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Alcatraz Books

Leave a Reply