Arnold Landon is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by British author Roy Lewis. Arnold Landon is a a medieval architecture expert and researcher. The series is set in Northumberland, England.

Roy Lewis introduced his Arnold Landon character in the novel A Gathering of Ghosts, published in 1983. Below is a list of Roy Lewis’ Arnold Landon books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Roy Lewis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Arnold Landon Books

A Gathering of Ghosts / Murder in the Barn(1983)Description / Buy at
Most Cunning Workmen / Murder in the Manor(1985)Description / Buy at
A Trout in the Milk / Murder in the Farmhouse(1986)Description / Buy at
Men of Subtle Craft / Murder in the Stableyard(1987)Description / Buy at
The Devil is Dead / Murder in the Church(1989)Description / Buy at
A Wisp of Smoke / Murder in the House(1992)Description / Buy at
A Secret Dying / Murder in the Tower(1993)Description / Buy at
Bloodeagle / Murder Under the Bridge(1993)Description / Buy at
The Cross Bearer / Murder by the Quay(1994)Description / Buy at
A Short-Lived Ghost / Murder at the Folly(1995)Description / Buy at
Angel of Death / Murder in the Field(1996)Description / Buy at
Suddenly as a Shadow / Murder in the Cottage(1997)Description / Buy at
The Shape-Shifter / Murder at Haggburn Hall(1998)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Dancers / Murder on the Golf Course(1998)Description / Buy at
An Assumption of Death / Murder on the Dawn Princess(2000)Description / Buy at
Dead Secret / Murder in Wolfcleugh Woods(2001)Description / Buy at
The Ways of Death / Murder at Abby Head(2002)Description / Buy at
Headhunter / Murder in the South of France(2004)Description / Buy at
Grave Error / Murder in Rome(2005)Description / Buy at
Dragon Head / Murder in China(2007)Description / Buy at
Shadowmaker / Murder in La Rochelle(2009)Description / Buy at
Goddess of Death / Murder in Valencia(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Arnold Landon Books, You’ll Love…

Arnold Landon Synopses: A Gathering of Ghosts by Roy Lewis is the first Arnold Landon novel. When a city planning officer sets out to preserve a medieval barn scheduled for demolition in order for an amusement park to be built, he encounters mysterious resistance and uncovers two murders.

Most Cunning Workmen is the second book in the Arnold Landon series by Roy Lewis. Called in to catalogue the library of a medieval manor about to be sold to an American conglomerate, antiquarian Arnold Landon must deal with property disputes and corporate politics, as well as murder.

A Trout in the Milk is the third book in Roy Lewis’ Arnold Landon series. Arnold Landon finds himself involved in a squabble over land in Northumbria when the intense passions of those involved – a greedy businessman, an aging aristocrat, and an eccentric spinster – produce a clever murder.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Arnold Landon Books

Leave a Reply