Eric Ward is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by British novelist Roy Lewis. Formerly a police inspector, Eric Ward is losing his eyesight and now works as a solicitor.

Roy Lewis debuted his Eric Ward character in the 1980 novel A Certain Blindness. Books in the series were regularly published from then until 2010, except for a 9 year break in the ’90s. Below is a list of Roy Lewis’ Eric Ward books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Roy Lewis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Eric Ward Books

A Certain Blindness / The Sedleigh Hall Murder(1980)Description / Buy at
Dwell in Danger / The Farming Murder(1982)Description / Buy at
A Limited Vision / The Quayside Murder(1983)Description / Buy at
Once Dying, Twice Dead / The Diamond Murder(1984)Description / Buy at
A Blurred Reality / The Geordie Murder(1985)Description / Buy at
Premium on Death / The Shipping Murder(1986)Description / Buy at
The Salamander Chill / The City of London Murder(1988)Description / Buy at
A Necessary Dealing / The Apartment Murder(1989)Description / Buy at
A Kind of Transaction / The Spanish Villa Murder(1991)Description / Buy at
A Form of Death / The Marriage Murder(2001)Description / Buy at
The Nightwalker / The Wasteful Murder(2002)Description / Buy at
Phantom / The Phantom Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Dead Man Running / The Slaughterhouse Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Embers of the Dead / The Tattoo Murder(2005)Description / Buy at
Death Squad / The Football Murder(2007)Description / Buy at
Guardian of the Dead / The Tutankhamun Murder(2008)Description / Buy at
Design for Murder / The Zodiac Murder(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Eric Ward Books, You’ll Love…

Eric Ward Synopses: A Certain Blindness by Roy Lewis is the first book in the Eric Ward series. A cold case leads retired police inspector Eric Ward into imminent danger when his informal investigation into the secret legacy of a convicted murderer points to a scandal that may involve two prominent families.

Dwell in Danger by Roy Lewis is the second book in the Eric Ward series. With his police career destroyed by impending blindness, aspiring lawyer Eric Ward faces a shattering personal crisis as he investigates a bitter family feud.

In A Limited Vision by Roy Lewis (book 3 in the series), Eric Ward must overcome the various problems caused by his painful glaucoma after a death threat forces him to search for an enemy from his past.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Eric Ward Books

Leave a Reply