Benjamin Weaver is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery/thriller novels by American novelist David Liss. The novels are told in the first person by an elderly Benjamin Weaver. The son of Portuguese Sephardic Jewish parents, Benjamin was born in London in the 18th century. After a career as a successful bareknuckle boxer, Weaver made a career change to a “thief-taker” – what we would call a private investigator.

The Benjamin Weaver series began in 2000 with A Conspiracy of Paper. The series is ongoing. Below is a list of David Liss’ Benjamin Weaver books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when David Liss releases a new book at

Publication Order of Benjamin Weaver Books

A Conspiracy of Paper(2000)Description / Buy at
A Spectacle of Corruption(2004)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Company(2007)Description / Buy at
The Double Dealer(2017)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Benjamin Weaver Books

Leave a Reply