Benny Griessel by Deon Meyer
Benny Griessel is the protagonist in a series of crime thriller novels by South African novelist Deon Meyer. Benny Griessel is a homicide detective in Cape Town, South Africa. At the beginning of the series, Griessel is in a bad place. He is on the verge of losing everything he has, including his job, his family and any last shred of respect he had for himself.

Deon Meyer began his Benny Griessel series in 2007 with the novel Devil’s Peak. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Deon Meyer’s Benny Griessel books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Deon Meyer releases a new book at

Publication Order of Benny Griessel Books

If You Like Benny Griessel Books, You’ll Love…

Benny Griessel Synopsis: Devil’s Peak is the first novel in the Benny Griessel series by Deon Meyer. It’s never easy getting back from war. It is no different for Thobela Mpayipheli. Thobela is a former freedom fighter who is trying to get used to the new South Africa. Things aren’t great, but he has his son, who he considers to be his link to the past. Then, the boy is murdered; taken from Thobela. And now, all he knows is despair and revenge. He becomes a vigilante killer and calls himself “Artemis.” The police put Benny Griessel on the case because Griessel cannot afford not to succeed. He’s about to lose everything, from his job to his family and even his own self-respect. This is his final chance at putting his life back together. Then Benny meets a young woman by the name of Christine who feeds her child by prostituting herself. And then, something happens that changes the world for everyone – Benny, Christine and Thobela.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Benny Griessel Books

Leave a Reply