The Birder Murder Mysteries series is a series of mystery novels by Canadian novelist Steve Burrows. Domenic Jejeune is a Canadian expat working as a police detective in Norfolk, England. Jejeune doesn’t live to be a cop, however, and is much more enthusiastic about his hobby – birdwatching.

Steve Burrows began his Birder Murder Mysteries in 2014 with the novel A Siege of Bitterns, which was the author’s debut novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Steve Burrows’ Birder Murder Mysteries books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Steve Burrows releases a new book at

Publication Order of Birder Murder Mystery Books

A Siege of Bitterns(2014)Description / Buy at
A Pitying of Doves(2015)Description / Buy at
A Cast of Falcons(2016)Description / Buy at
A Shimmer of Hummingbirds(2017)Description / Buy at
A Tiding of Magpies(2018)Description / Buy at
A Dance of Cranes(2019)Description / Buy at
A Foreboding of Petrels(2022)Description / Buy at
A Nye of Pheasants(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Birder Murder Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Birder Murder Mysteries Synopsis: A Pitying of Doves is the second Birder Murder Mystery novel by Steve Burrows. Why would a killer ignore expensive jewellery and take a pair of turtledoves as the only bounty? This is only one of the questions that piques Chief Inspector Domenic Jejeune’s interest after a senior attaché with the Mexican Consulate is found murdered alongside the director of a local bird sanctuary. The fact that the director’s death has opened up a full-time research position studying birds hasn’t eluded Jejeune either. Could this be the escape from policing that the celebrated detective has been seeking? Even if it is, Jejeune knows he owes it to the victims to solve the case first. But a trail that weaves from embittered aviary owners to suspicious bird sculptors only seems to be leading him farther from the truth. Meanwhile, Jejeune is discovering that diplomatic co-operation and diplomatic pressure go hand in hand. With two careers hanging in the balance, the stakes have never been higher for Inspector Jejeune. And this time, even bringing a killer to justice may not provide the closure he’s looking for.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Birder Murder Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply