Steve Burrows is an English-Canadian author of mystery novels. He writes the Birder Murder Mysteries series. Steve is himself a birdwatcher, and has had the chance to do it on six continents. He earned his English degree from York University. He has worked as an editor for Hong Kong Bird Watching Society Magazine, and as a contributing field editor for Asian Geographic. Steve lives in Oshawa, Ontario with his family.

Steve Burrows made his debut as a published novelist in 2014 with the novel A Siege of Bitterns. Below is a list of Steve Burrows’ Birder Murder Mysteries books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Steve Burrows releases a new book at

Publication Order of Birder Murder Mystery Books

A Siege of Bitterns (2014)Description / Buy at
A Pitying of Doves (2015)Description / Buy at
A Cast of Falcons (2016)Description / Buy at
A Shimmer of Hummingbirds (2017)Description / Buy at
A Tiding of Magpies (2018)Description / Buy at
A Dance of Cranes (2019)Description / Buy at
A Foreboding of Petrels (2022)Description / Buy at
A Nye of Pheasants (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Steve Burrows Books, You’ll Love…

Steve Burrows Synopsis: A Siege of Bitterns is the first Birder Murder Mystery by Steve Burrows. Inspector Domenic Jejeune’s success has made him one of the top detectives in the UK. The problem is Jejeune doesn’t really want to be a cop at all; he’d rather watch birds. Recently reassigned to the small Norfolk town of Saltmarsh, located in the heart of Britain’s premier birding country, Jejeune’s two worlds collide when he investigates the grisly murder of a prominent ecological activist. His ambitious police superintendent foresees a blaze of welcome publicity, but she begins to have her doubts when Jejeune’s most promising theory involves a feud over birdwatching lists. A second murder only complicates matters. To solve this case, Jejeune must deal with unwelcome public acclaim, the mistrust of colleagues, and his own insecurities. In the case of the Saltmarsh birder murders, the victims may not be the only casualties.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steve Burrows Books

Leave a Reply