Robert Barnard
Robert Barnard (1937-2013) was an English author of crime fiction and non-fiction books. He is the author of the Charlie Peace and Perry Trethowan series. Barnard attended Colchester Royal Grammar School and Balliol College. His lifetime achievements were honoured with the Cartier Diamond Dagger award from the Crime Writers Associaiton in 2003. Barnard considered his favourite crime fiction author to be Agatha Christie.

Robert Barnard made his debut as a published novelist in 1974 with the novel Death of an Old Goat. Below is a list of Robert Barnard’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Amadeus Mozart Books

Dead, Mr. Mozart (1994)Description / Buy at
Too Many Notes, Mr. Mozart (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Charlie Peace Books

Death and the Chaste Apprentice (1989)Description / Buy at
A Fatal Attachment (1992)Description / Buy at
A Hovering of Vultures (1993)Description / Buy at
The Bad Samaritan (1995)Description / Buy at
No Place of Safety (1997)Description / Buy at
The Corpse at the Haworth Tandoori (1998)Description / Buy at
Unholy Dying / Turbulent Priest (2001)Description / Buy at
The Bones in the Attic (2002)Description / Buy at
A Fall from Grace (2007)Description / Buy at
The Killings on Jubilee Terrace (2009)Description / Buy at
A Charitable Body (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Idwal Meredith Books

Unruly Son / Death of a Mystery Writer (1979)Description / Buy at
At Death's Door (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of John Sutcliffe Books

Political Suicide (1986)Description / Buy at
A Scandal in Belgravia (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Perry Trethowan Books

Death by Sheer Torture / Sheer Torture (1981)Description / Buy at
Death and the Princess (1982)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Missing Brontë / The Missing Brontë (1983)Description / Buy at
Bodies (1986)Description / Buy at
Death In Purple Prose / The Cherry Blossom Corpse (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Death of an Old Goat (1974)Description / Buy at
A Little Local Murder (1976)Description / Buy at
Death on the High C's (1977)Description / Buy at
Blood Brotherhood (1977)Description / Buy at
Posthumous Papers / Death of a Literary Widow (1979)Description / Buy at
Death in a Cold Climate (1981)Description / Buy at
Death of a Perfect Mother / Mother's Boys (1981)Description / Buy at
School for Murder / Little Victims (1983)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in a Gilded Cage (1984)Description / Buy at
Fete Fatale / The Disposal of the Living (1985)Description / Buy at
Out of the Blackout (1985)Description / Buy at
The Skeleton in the Grass (1988)Description / Buy at
A City of Strangers (1990)Description / Buy at
To Die Like a Gentleman (1993)Description / Buy at
The Masters of the House (1994)Description / Buy at
A Mansion and Its Murder (1998)Description / Buy at
A Murder in Mayfair / Touched by the Dead (1999)Description / Buy at
The Mistress of Alderley (2000)Description / Buy at
A Cry from the Dark (2003)Description / Buy at
Dying Flames (2005)Description / Buy at
The Graveyard Position (2005)Description / Buy at
Last Post (2007)Description / Buy at
A Stranger in the Family (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Breakfast Television (1987)Description / Buy at
The Woman in the Wardrobe (1987)Description / Buy at
More Final Than Divorce (1988)Description / Buy at
The Habit of Widowhood (1991)Description / Buy at
The Gentleman in the Lake (1994)Description / Buy at
Nothing to Lose (2000)Description / Buy at
Dognapped (2002)Description / Buy at
Everybody’s Girl (2005)Description / Buy at
The Old Couple (2006)Description / Buy at
Provenance (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Death of a Salesperson and Other Untimely Exits (1989)Description / Buy at
The Habit of Widowhood and Other Murderous Proclivities (1996)Description / Buy at
Rogue's Gallery (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Imagery and Theme in the Novels of Dickens (1974)Description / Buy at
A Talent to Deceive: Appreciation of Agatha Christie (1980)Description / Buy at
A Short History of English Literature (1984)Description / Buy at
Emily Brontë (2000)Description / Buy at
A Bronte Encyclopedia (With: Louise Barnard) (2007)Description / Buy at
The Leisure Hour Improved: Or Moral Miscellanies in Prose and Verse, Original and Selected (2015)Description / Buy at
A Wreath from the Wilderness, a Selection from the Metrical Arrangements of Accola Montis-Am Ni (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Suit of Diamonds(1991)Description / Buy at
Fifty Best Mysteries(1993)Description / Buy at
2nd Culprit(1993)Description / Buy at
Criminal Records(2000)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 9(2000)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 2(2000)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 3(2002)Description / Buy at
Much Ado About Murder(2002)Description / Buy at
Thou Shalt Not Kill(2005)Description / Buy at
The Detection Collection(2005)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 7(2010)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at

Notes: Unruly Son was also published as Death of a Mystery Writer. Sheer Torture was also titled Death by Sheer Torture. The Missing Bronte was also titled The Case of the Missing Bronte. Death in Purple Prose was re-published as The Cherry Blossom Corpse. Unholy Dying was also titled Turbulent Priest. Posthumous Papers is also known as Death of a Literary Widow. Mother’s Boys was re-issued as Death of a Perfect Mother. Little Victims was also published under the title of School for Murder. Fete Fatale was re-issued as The Disposal of the Living. Touched by the Dead is also known as A Murder in Mayfair. A Bronte Encyclopedia was co-authored by Louise Barnard.

If You Like Robert Barnard Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Barnard Books

2 Responses to “Order of Robert Barnard Books”

  1. KE: 9 years ago

    Where is “School for Murder”? I know “Little Victims” is the English title, but shouldn’t both American and English releases be listed? It would be very helpful for the collector.


    • Brandon: 9 years ago

      I now have it listed as School for Murder for US and Canadian visitors. I hope that is a fair compromise.


Leave a Reply