Perry Trethowan by Robert Barnard
Perry Trethowan is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by English novelist Robert Barnard. The 6’5″, 238 lb. Trethowan works as an inspector for Scotland Yard.

Robert Barnard began his Perry Trethowan series in 1981 with the novel Sheer Torture (aka Death by Sheer Torture). The series lasted five novels, concluding in 1987 with the book Death in Purple Prose. Below is a list of Robert Barnard’s Perry Trethowan books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Perry Trethowan Books

Death by Sheer Torture / Sheer Torture(1981)Description / Buy at
Death and the Princess(1982)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Missing Brontë / The Missing Brontë(1983)Description / Buy at
Bodies(1986)Description / Buy at
Death In Purple Prose / The Cherry Blossom Corpse(1987)Description / Buy at

Notes: Sheer Torture is also known as Death by Sheer Torture. The Missing Bronte was also published under the title of The Case of the Missing Bronte. Death in Purple Prose was also titled The Cherry Blossom Corpse.

If You Like Perry Trethowan Books, You’ll Love…

Perry Trethowan Synopses: In Death by Sheer Torture by Robert Barnard (book 1 of the series), Inspector Perry Trethowan must investigate the mysterious death of his own estranged father, which ends up reuniting him with his bizarre family.

The Case of the Missing Bronte is the third book of the Perry Trethowan series by author Robert Barnard. In this installment of the series, Superintendent Trethowan is at a pub in Yorkshire. It is there that he meets an old woman who shows him an old unpublished Bronte manuscript. But what he doesn’t expect is that the manuscript may be cause for theft, torture or even murder.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Perry Trethowan Books

Leave a Reply