Charlie Peace by Robert Barnard
Charlie Peace is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction/mystery novels by English novelist Robert Barnard. Charlie is a young black detective with Scotland Yard who starts out in London, but later moves to the North.

Robert Barnard began his Charlie Peace series in 1989 with the novel Death and the Chaste Apprentice. The series lasted 11 novels, ending with the 2012 novel A Charitable Body. Below is a list of Robert Barnard’s Charlie Peace books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Charlie Peace Books

Death and the Chaste Apprentice(1989)Description / Buy at
A Fatal Attachment(1992)Description / Buy at
A Hovering of Vultures(1993)Description / Buy at
The Bad Samaritan(1995)Description / Buy at
No Place of Safety(1997)Description / Buy at
The Corpse at the Haworth Tandoori(1998)Description / Buy at
Unholy Dying / Turbulent Priest(2001)Description / Buy at
The Bones in the Attic(2002)Description / Buy at
A Fall from Grace(2007)Description / Buy at
The Killings on Jubilee Terrace(2009)Description / Buy at
A Charitable Body(2012)Description / Buy at

Note: The novel Unholy Dying was re-issued under the title of Turbulent Priest.

If You Like Charlie Peace Books, You’ll Love…

Charlie Peace Synopsis: Death and the Chaste Apprentice by Robert Barnard is the first Charlie Peace novel. At the Ketterick Arts Festival, the apprentice is just about the only fella that is chaste. Des Capper is a font of dubious gossip and unwanted advice. Although the actors and singers performing at the Festival might not like it, Des has been promoted to landlord of the the Elizabethan inn in the middle of the Festival called the Saracen’s Head. When Des meets an unfortunate end, the only one crying is his poor wife.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Charlie Peace Books

Leave a Reply