Captain Alatriste by Arthur Perez-Reverte
Captain Alatriste is the protagonist in a series of historical fiction novels by Spanish novelist Arturo Perez-Reverte. Captain Diego Alatriste y Tenorio is a soldier from the Leonese region of Spain durin the 17th century. He has been a soldier ever since he was 13 years old. Perez-Reverte conceived of the series after he was disappointed about how little was written about the time period of history (the Spanish Golden Age) that was written about in his daughter’s school textbooks. The series was made into a film entitled Alatriste starring Viggo Mortensen.

Arturo Perez-Reverte began his Captain Alatriste series in 1996 with the novel El capitan Alatriste (in Spanish). He credited his daughter as a co-author due to the fact that she helped him gather the research for the novel. The novel was published in English in 2005 as Captain Alatriste. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Arturo Perez-Reverte’s Captain Alatriste books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Arturo Perez-Reverte releases a new book at

Publication Order of Captain Alatriste Books

Captain Alatriste(1996)Description / Buy at
Purity of Blood(1997)Description / Buy at
The Sun Over Breda(1998)Description / Buy at
The King's Gold(2000)Description / Buy at
The Cavalier in the Yellow Doublet(2003)Description / Buy at
Pirates of the Levant(2006)Description / Buy at

Note: The Cavalier in the Yellow Doublet was also published as The Man in the Yellow Doublet.

If You Like Captain Alatriste Books, You’ll Love…

Captain Alatriste Synopsis: In Capitan Alatriste by Arturo Perez-Reverte, Capitan Alatriste is a Spanish soldier who works as a swordsman-for-hire in Madrid. In order to pay off his debts, Alatriste and another swordsman are hired to ambush a couple of travellers, make it look like it was a robbery and scare them off. No blood necessary. Then, an unknown person gives them more details. He ups their pay and tells them to kill the travellers. When everything goes down, Alatriste discovers these aren’t ordinary travellers and sends into motion a series of twists and turns that will be felt all over Europe.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Captain Alatriste Books

Leave a Reply