The Change by SM Stirling
The Change is a series of alternate history novels by Canadian-American novelist S.M. Stirling. The series is made up of the Nantucket trilogy series and the Emberverse. In the Nantucket trilogy, an island is sent back in time to the Bronze Age and looks how some are looking to benefit from “The Event,” others want to make it better and the rest just want to survive. The Emberverse series is a look at the result of the planet the island left behind.

The Change began in 1998 with the novel Island in the Sea of Time by S.M. Stirling. This novel launched the Nantucket trilogy series. The series concluded in 2000 with the novel On the Oceans of Eternity. Other works of Stirling’s that are apart of this series include the short story Riding Shotgun to Armageddon (available in the collection >) and the novelette Blood Wolf. The novel Dies the Fire, published in 2004, begins the Emberverse series. It starts with a trilogy, that ends with the 2006 novel A Meeting at Corvallis, and then a second series that is set 22 years later begins with The Sunrise Lands. That series includes the stories A Murder in Eddsford and Something for Yew. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of S.M. Stirling’s The Change books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when S.M. Stirling releases a new book at

Publication Order of Island In The Sea Of Time Books

Island in the Sea of Time(1998)Description / Buy at
Against the Tide of Years(1999)Description / Buy at
On the Oceans of Eternity(2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dies The Fire Books

Dies the Fire(2004)Description / Buy at
The Protector's War(2005)Description / Buy at
A Meeting at Corvallis(2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rudi's Children Books

The Golden Princess(2014)Description / Buy at
The Desert and the Blade(2015)Description / Buy at
Prince of Outcasts(2016)Description / Buy at
The Sea Peoples(2017)Description / Buy at
The Sky-Blue Wolves(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like The Change Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Change Books

Leave a Reply