Honor Harrington is a fictional character created by American novelist David Weber. Her full name is Honor Stephanie Alexander-Harrington and she is the featured character in his Honorverse universe – a military science fiction series. Honor is an officer in the space navy. The series is set between the years 4002 and 4022. The Honorverse includes the Honor Harrington series, the Wages of Sin series, the Saganami series and a YA series.

Honor Harrington made her debut in the novel On Basilisk Station, which was published in 1993. Below is a list of David Weber’s Honorverse books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when David Weber releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Honor Harrington Books

On Basilisk Station(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Honor of the Queen(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Short Victorious War(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Field of Dishonor(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Flag in Exile(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Honor Among Enemies(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Enemy Hands(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Echoes of Honor(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ashes of Victory(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
War of Honor(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
At All Costs(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mission of Honor(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Rising Thunder(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of Freedom(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
House of Steel(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of Victory(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Uncompromising Honor(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Honorverse Companion Books

Jayne's Intelligence Review(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Havenite Republican Navy(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
House of Steel(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Worlds of Honor Books

More Than Honor(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Worlds of Honor(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Changer of Worlds(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Service of the Sword(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Fire Forged(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beginnings(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What Price Victory?(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Saganami Island Books

The Shadow of Saganami(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Storm from the Shadows(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of Freedom(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of Victory(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: A Fire Season and The Treecat War were co-authored by Jane Linskold.

If You Like Honor Harrington Books, You’ll Love…

Honor Harrington Synopses: On Basilisk Station by David Weber is the first book in the Honor Harrington series. Honor Harrington finds herself in a predicament after a humiliating incident that portrays her in a foolish light. As a consequence, she is banished to Basilisk Station, her once-pristine reputation tarnished and her future prospects marred by the vindictive actions of a superior officer who harbors a personal grudge against her.

With a crew demoralized and holding her accountable for their ship’s unenviable assignment to an isolated picket station, Honor faces an uphill battle.

On the only habitable planet within the system, the native inhabitants are consuming potent hallucinogens with lethal consequences.

The ruling Parliament is hesitant to retain control over the region, given its challenges. Illicit activities dominate the local trade scene, and powerful merchant syndicates are determined to see her downfall. Meanwhile, a shadowy empire known as the “Republic” of Haven conceals ulterior motives, and Honor is armed with just one antiquated light cruiser, equipped with malfunctioning armaments, to maintain order across the expansive star system.

However, those plotting against her have underestimated Honor’s determination and resilience, for they have managed to stoke her anger and resolve.

The Honor of the Queen is the second book in the Honor Harrington series from novelist David Weber. Promoting peace becomes an uphill struggle when the opposing faction views warfare as an inevitable precursor to conquest, and surprise attacks as their chosen strategy. This is precisely why the Kingdom of Manticore seeks allies against the aggressive “Republic” of Haven, and the planet Grayson emerges as a promising candidate for a valuable alliance. However, the Foreign Office of Her Majesty failed to consider a significant cultural difference when appointing Honor Harrington as their representative: on Grayson, women hold no rank or rights, making Honor’s presence a deeply offensive affront to the entire male population.

Initially, Honor dismisses this treatment as a mere cultural nuance. Coming from a place where gender discrimination is a distant memory, she treats it as irrelevant as a historical relic. Yet, as time passes, the persistent mistreatment she faces from the Graysonites takes its toll. She contemplates leaving, but then Grayson’s belligerent sister planet unexpectedly launches an attack. Honor is compelled to remain and fight not only for her personal honor but for the honor of her sovereign, in a battle that has the potential to shape the course of history—for The Honor of the Queen.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Honor Harrington Books

5 Responses to “Order of Honor Harrington Books”

  1. Jack Newcombe: 4 years ago

    I tend to agree that Weber’s later books are not as readable as his earlier titles. They are still well written, but I like the Honor Harrington Character, and she is not featured as much in his later works. His new series is much better because it is more in the style of his earlier books.


  2. Michael Horak: 4 years ago

    I think you are wrong NighlonLibertine I think the Honor Harrington books are getting progressively better, now if they were making movies out of the Honor Harrington books each movie that came out would be worse than than the last one that came out, lets hope David Weber never go’s down THAT route.


  3. NighonLibertine: 7 years ago

    David Weber’s Honor Harrington series is getting progressively worse reviews- so so sad.


    • Vernon Jackson: 7 years ago

      Yes it is


      • Lessik ekim: 6 years ago

        Writing is still good, editing needs work.


Leave a Reply