Charlie Muffin by Brian Freemantle
Charlie Muffin is the protagonist in a series of spy thriller novels by British author Brian Freemantle. Formerly a British intelligent agent, Charlie now works as a freelance agent.

Brian Freemantle began his Charlie Muffin series with the novel Charlie Muffin (aka Charlie M) in 1977. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Brian Freemantle’s Charlie Muffin books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Brian Freemantle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Charlie Muffin Books

Charlie Muffin / Charlie M(1977)Description / Buy at
Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie / Here Comes Charlie M(1978)Description / Buy at
The Inscrutable Charlie Muffin(1979)Description / Buy at
Charlie Muffin's Uncle Sam / Charlie Muffin U.S.A.(1980)Description / Buy at
Madrigal For Charlie Muffin(1981)Description / Buy at
Charlie Muffin and Russian Rose / The Blind Run(1985)Description / Buy at
Charlie Muffin San / See Charlie Run(1987)Description / Buy at
The Run Around(1988)Description / Buy at
Comrade Charlie(1989)Description / Buy at
Charlie's Apprentice(1993)Description / Buy at
Charlie's Chance / Bomb Grade(1996)Description / Buy at
Dead Men Living(2000)Description / Buy at
Kings of Many Castles(2002)Description / Buy at
Red Star Rising(2010)Description / Buy at
Red Star Burning(2012)Description / Buy at
Red Star Falling(2013)Description / Buy at

Notes: Charlie Muffin was also published as Charlie M. Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie was also titled Here Comes Charlie M. Charlie Muffin’s Uncle Sam was also titled Charlie Muffin U.S.A. Charlie Muffin and Russian Rose was also published as The Blind Run. Charlie Muffin San was also titled See Charlie Run. Charlie’s Chance was also released as Bomb Grade.

If You Like Charlie Muffin Books, You’ll Love…

Charlie Muffin Synopsis: Charlie M by Brian Freeemantle introduces readers to Charlie Muffin. Charlie started in intelligence in the early fifties when the British government was looking for foot soldiers and looked towards the middle class. Despite not coming from the upper class, Charlie lasted 25 years in Berlin – considered the front line of the espionage battle. Times have changed, however, and the boys from Oxford and Cambridge are the ones calling the shots. They are looking to get rid of the middle class spy who has been a thorn in their side. Perhaps it’s time for Charlie to be sacrificed. But Charlie Muffin didn’t survive two decades in Berlin by being a pushover. He intends to go on protecting the realm, and won’t let anyone from his own organization get in his way.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Charlie Muffin Books

One Response to “Order of Charlie Muffin Books”

  1. David Parkins: 2 years ago

    Grew up and Loved the Charlie Muffin books. A great shame their were not future books written about him.


Leave a Reply