Charlie Resnick is the central character in a series of police procedural/mystery novels by British author John Harvey. Charlie is a detective inspector based in Nottingham. He is of Polish descent, loves jazz and eats lots of sandwiches. The series has been adapted into two TV movies for the BBC, starring Tom Wilkinson and written by Harvey.

Charlie Resnick made his debut in the novel Lonely Hearts, published in 1989. It was thought that was the series was over with in 1998 with Last Rites, but Resnick would make a comeback in 2008 with Cold in Hand. Below is a list of John Harvey’s Charlie Resnick books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when John Harvey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Charlie Resnick Books

Publication Order of Charlie Resnick Collections

If You Like Charlie Resnick Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Charlie Resnick Books

One Response to “Order of Charlie Resnick Books”

  1. KSC: 11 years ago

    The best — most under-rated — mystery series of the last 25 years. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply