Inspector Kurt Wallander is a character featured in a series of mystery novels by Swedish novelist Henning Mankell. Wallander has a limited number of friends, drinks too much and eats too much junk food. He gets very involved with the cases he works on and will disobey orders in order to solve a case. Mankell’s book series has spawned a Swedish film series, a Swedish television series and a British television series.

The Kurt Wallander series began in 1991 with Faceless Killers, which was translated into English in 1997. Below is a list of Henning Mankell’s Kurt Wallander books in publication order and chronological order:

Publication Order of Kurt Wallander Books

Faceless Killers(1991)Description / Buy at
The Dogs of Riga(1992)Description / Buy at
The White Lioness(1993)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Smiled(1994)Description / Buy at
Sidetracked(1995)Description / Buy at
The Fifth Woman(1996)Description / Buy at
One Step Behind(1997)Description / Buy at
Firewall(1998)Description / Buy at
The Troubled Man(2011)Description / Buy at
An Event in Autumn(2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kurt Wallander Collections

The Pyramid: The First Wallander Cases(1999)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kurt Wallander Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Kurt Wallander Books

3 Responses to “Order of Kurt Wallander Books”

  1. Liz: 6 years ago

    Without giving away an ending, I am quite certain that the Wallender series ends with The Troubled Man.

    An Event in Autumn is copyright 2004.

    I haven’t read the entire series and I have not read it in order but I think Before the Frost (Linda Wallender) comes someplace in front of Troubled Man it is also copyright 2004.


  2. Scissorhands201: 10 years ago

    What about ‘before the frost,


    • kaystar34: 9 years ago

      That one is about his daughter, Linda Wallander. I can’t wait to read it, but she has to get in line. So many good books I’m discovering, but only the best will I read.


Leave a Reply