Codex Alera is a fantasy series of novels by American author Jim Butcher. The featured character is named Tavi, who is the only one in the empire of Alera who does not have any command over the elemental forces known as furies. Despite this, Tavi must keep Alera from breaking down into a civil war.

The series was conceived when Jim Butcher was challenged to write a good story out of two “not-so-good” ideas – Lost Roman Legion and Pokemon. The series began in 2004 with Furies of Calderon. It has been followed up by several books ever since then. Below is a list of Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series in order of when the books were released:

Get notified when Jim Butcher releases a new book at

Publication Order of Codex Alera Books

Furies of Calderon(2004)Description / Buy at
Academ's Fury(2005)Description / Buy at
Cursor's Fury(2006)Description / Buy at
Captain's Fury(2007)Description / Buy at
Princep's Fury(2008)Description / Buy at
First Lord's Fury(2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Codex Alera Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Codex Alera Books

Leave a Reply