Dalziel and Pascoe is a series of crime fiction novels by English author Reginald Hill. The series’ protagonists are Detective Superintendent Andy Dalziel and Detective Sergeant Peter Pascoe. The series is set in Yorkshire, England. Reginald breaks many traditions, including telling the story out of order and having Peter’s wife tell some of the story. The detectives do not always get the bad guy, which definitely adds to the unpredictability of the mysteries. The books were adapted to a BBC television series.

Reginald Hill began his Dalziel and Pascoe series in 1970 with Hill’s debut novel A Clubbable Woman. The series would last 24 novels (including novellas and short story collections), ending with Midnight Fugue in 2009. Below is a list of Reginald Hill’s Dalziel and Pascoe books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Books

A Clubbable Woman(1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Advancement of Learning(1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ruling Passion(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An April Shroud(1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Pinch of Snuff(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Killing Kindness(1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deadheads(1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Exit Lines(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Child's Play(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Under World(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bones and Silence(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One Small Step(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Recalled to Life(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pictures of Perfection(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wood Beyond(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Beulah Height(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arms and the Women(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dialogues of the Dead(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death's Jest-Book(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Good Morning, Midnight(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Comes for the Fat Man / The Death of Dalziel(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last National Service Man(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Cure for All Diseases / The Price of Butcher's Meat(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Midnight Fugue(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last National Service Man is a prequel novella.

Publication Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Collections

Pascoe's Ghost(1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Asking for the Moon(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dalziel and Pascoe Hunt the Christmas Killer(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Death Comes for the Fat Man is also known as The Death of Dalziel. A Cure For All Diseases is alternatively titled The Price of Butcher’s Meat.

If You Like Dalziel & Pascoe Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Books

3 Responses to “Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Books”

  1. Laurel Van Horn: 2 years ago

    When Reginald Hill died, I went into mourning. It was unthinkable that there would be no more books about Andy Dalziel, Pascoe, and Weildy ever again.
    Andy Dalziel is an unforgettable character. He is gross, manipulative, self-involved, witty, and brilliant. He is a true original! The other characters are no slouches either – Pascoe, Ellie, Wieldy, etc. Hill is one of the most accomplished writers I have ever read. His loss was painful to many fans I am sure.

    I just got a chance to watch the series based on these books. The actors were superb, at least in the first part of the series. Then, the powers that be decided to tweak things as they do on TV. They cleaned Andy up and dressed him in smart suits, styled his hair, and had women falling in love with him left and right. Where had the Dalziel of those wonderful books gone? This is not an original idea with me, but once it was pointed out in an article I read, it became crystal clear as I watched the adaptation. It is fun to watch the show, but please read the books first!


  2. Mike Rogers: 3 years ago

    They’re MUCH MORE than police procedurals, though you can read and enjoy them as such… The TV adaptations do quite a good job with the characters, but can’t possibly contain all the witty turns of phrase that pop up in the narration (to say nothing of the allusions to literature that sit in the text like diamonds in an eccles cake…). If you aren’t familiar with Milton, Mahler and Emily Dickinson (to name but a few sources) you will be missing something – but there’s enough plain ordinary fare to satisfy anyone.


  3. Mongoose218: 10 years ago

    REALLY a good series of police procedurals, with great characters, and always an interesting plot….the oldest are a bit dated, but not so much they’re not still enjoyable.


Leave a Reply