Dana Girls Mystery Stories by Carolyn Keene
The Dana Girls is a series of YA mystery novels written under the house name of Carolyn Keene and created by Harriet Stratemeyer Adams of the Stratemeyer Syndicate. Jean and Louise Dana are teenage amateur sleuths who are attending a boarding school called the Starhurst School for Girls, where they solve mysteries.

Carolyn Keene began the Dana Girls series with the novel By the Light of the Study Lamp, which was published in 1934. The original series lasted 30 novels, concluding in 1968 with the novel The Phantom Surfer. The series was relaunched in 1972 starting with The Mystery of the Stone Tiger and concluding with the 17th (or 47th) novel, The Witch’s Omen, in 1979. There were two additional novels written, The Strange Identities and The Thousand Islands Mystery, both of which went unpublished. Below is a list of Carolyn Keene’s Dana Girls Mystery Stories books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Carolyn Keene releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Dana Girls Mystery Stories Books

The Secret at the Hermitage(1936)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Circle of Footprints(1937)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mystery of the Locked Room(1938)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Clue in the Cobweb(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret at the Gatehouse(1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mysterious Fireplace(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Clue of the Rusty Key(1942)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Portrait in the Sand(1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret in the Old Well(1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Clue in the Ivy(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of the Jade Ring(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mystery at the Crossroads(1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ghost in the Gallery(1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Clue of the Black flower(1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Winking Ruby Mystery(1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of the Swiss Chalet(1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Haunted Lagoon(1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mystery of the Bamboo Bird(1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sierra Gold Mystery(1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of the Lost Lake(1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mystery of the Stone Tiger(1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Riddle of the Frozen Fountain(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of the Silver Dolphin(1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mystery of the Wax Queen(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of the Minstrel’s Guitar(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Phantom Surfer(1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Curious Coronation(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hundred Year Mystery(1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mountain-Peak Mystery(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Witch's Omen(1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The first four books in the series were written by Leslie McFarlane. Books 5-12 & 14-16 were written by Mildred A. Wirt. Books 13 & 17-30 as well as 44-47 were written by Harriet Stratemeyer Adams.

If You Like Dana Girls Books, You’ll Love…

Dana Girls Mystery Stories Synopsis: In By the Light of the Study Lamp by Carolyn Keene (book 1 of the series), Jean and Louise are given a study lamp by their Uncle Ned. Their idea is to use it in their study room at school, but before they leave for school, the lamp is gone!

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dana Girls Books

One Response to “Order of Dana Girls Books”

  1. Bethany: 10 years ago

    I may be the only one to have noticed this; but the newer published ones (1972-74 or so) are out of order compared to the originals. This list was very helpful in putting them in the right order! (But now the mysteries noted in the books won’t match up, but I’d rather have them in the correct order!)


Leave a Reply