DCI Ryan is the protagonist in a series of crime thriller/romantic suspense novels by English novelist L.J. Ross. The series mixes crime with romance and humour. It is not only set in the author’s home county of Northumberland, but also County Durham and Newcastle.

L.J. Ryan began her DCI Ryan series in 2015 with the novel Holy Island. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of L.J. Ryan’s DCI Ryan books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when LJ Ross releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of DCI Ryan Books

Holy Island(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sycamore Gap(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Heavenfield(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Angel(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
High Force(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cragside(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark Skies(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Seven Bridges(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hermitage(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Longstone(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Infirmary(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Moor(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Penshaw(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Borderlands(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ryan's Christmas(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shrine(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cuthbert's Way(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Rock(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bamburgh(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lady's Well(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Rocks(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Chronologically, The Infirmary is a prequel to the series although the author advises that you read in publication order.

If You Like DCI Ryan Books, You’ll Love…

DCI Ryan Synopsis: Sycamore Gap is the second DCI Ryan novel by LJ Ross. Detective Chief Inspector Ryan believes he has put his turbulent history behind him. Then, in the early hours of the summer solstice, the skeleton of a young woman is found inside the Roman Wall at Sycamore Gap. She has lain undiscovered for ten years and it is Ryan’s job to piece together her past. Enquiry lines cross and merge as Ryan is forced to face his own demons and enter into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a killer who seems unstoppable.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of DCI Ryan Books

Leave a Reply