Fu-Manchu by Sax Rohmer
Fu Manchu is the main character in a series of crime fiction novels by English novelist Sax Rohmer. Fu Manchu is a supervillain who uses methods such as bandits, thugs, snakes, spiders or fungi rather than using guns or explosives to kill. The character has not only appeared in Rohmer’s series of novels, but also in film, TV, radio and comics. The character is also famous for his moustache – the “Fu Manchu.”

Sax Rohmer began his Fu Manchu series in 1913 with the novel The Mystery of Dr. Fu Manchu. The series lasted 14 books until the posthumously published collection The Wrath of Fu Manchu in 1973. Below is a list of Sax Rohmer’s Fu Manchu books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Fu Manchu Books

The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu / The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu(1913)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu / The Devil Doctor(1916)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hand of Fu-Manchu / The Si-Fan Mysteries(1917)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Daughter of Fu-Manchu(1931)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mask of Fu-Manchu(1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bride of Fu-Manchu / Fu-Manchu's Bride(1933)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Trail of Fu-Manchu(1934)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
President Fu-Manchu(1936)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Drums of Fu-Manchu(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Island of Fu-Manchu(1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shadow of Fu-Manchu(1948)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Re-enter Fu-Manchu(1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Emperor Fu-Manchu(1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wrath of Fu-Manchu(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu was also published as The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu. The Devil Doctor is also known as The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu. The Si-Fan Mysteries is also titled The Hand of Fu-Manchu. Fu-Manchu’s Bride was also published under the title The Bride of Fu-Manchu. Re-Enter Fu-Manchu is also known as Re-Enter Dr. Fu-Manchu.

If You Like Fu Manchu Books, You’ll Love…

Fu Manchu Synopsis: The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu by Sax Rohmer is set in 1913 London, the era of Sherlock Holmes, Dracula and the Invisible Man. It was a time of shadows, secret societies, and dens full of opium addicts. Into this world comes the most fantastic emissary of evil society has ever known… Dr. Fu-Manchu. Denis Nayland Smith pursues his quarry across continents and through the back alleys of London. As victim after victim disappears at the hands of the Devil Doctor, Smith must unravel his murderous plot before it is too late.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Fu Manchu Books

Leave a Reply