Another creation of American author James Lee Burke, Hackberry Holland is the sheriff of a Texas border town. Hackberry is the cousin of Billy Bob Holland, who has his own book series by Burke.

Interestingly, the first Hack Holland novel (Lay Down My Sword and Shield) came out in 1971 and additions were not made to the series until 2009 with Rain Gods. Below is a list of James Lee Burke’s Hackberry Holland book series in order:

Get notified when James Lee Burke releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hackberry Holland Books

Lay Down My Sword and Shield(1971)Description / Buy at
Rain Gods(2009)Description / Buy at
Feast Day of Fools(2011)Description / Buy at
House of the Rising Sun(2015)Description / Buy at
Another Kind of Eden(2021)Description / Buy at
Every Cloak Rolled in Blood(2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Billy Bob Holland Books

Publication Order of Weldon Holland Books

Wayfaring Stranger(2014)Description / Buy at
The Jealous Kind(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Hackberry Holland Books, You’ll Love…

Hackberry Holland Synopses: In Lay Down My Sword and Shield, Hackberry Holland (known simply as “Hack”) is a attorney and POW of the Korean War. His family and friends are trying to get him to run for office, but Hack would rather look after his horses and take the odd pro-bono case. While trying to get a conviction overturned for an old friend, Hack finds himself embroiled in the Texas patronage system and the beginnings of the United Farm Workers movement, which is led by a beautiful woman who may just help Hack find a new purpose in life.

In Rain Gods, nine illegal aliens are found in Sheriff Holland’s jurisdiction. These women and young girls have all been killed execution-style and are laying in shallow graves. Hack must solve these murders, but in trying to do so, it could lead to more.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hackberry Holland Books

3 Responses to “Order of Hackberry Holland Books”

  1. Tawanda the Avenger: 8 years ago

    I’m confused about the Hackberry Holland character. The latest title, “House of the Rising Sun,” (outstanding, btw) features a character called Hackberry Holland, set in 1918. The Hackberry Holland featured in the trilogy beginning with “Lay Down My Sword and Shield” features another Hackberry Holland. Is he a child of Ishmael, named for his father? I’m not far enough into “Shield” to have picked up any clues about this Hackberry. Help!


    • tjpratt: 8 years ago

      good question the age of hackberry seems dubious at best


  2. Joe: 11 years ago

    Please, we need a powerful Hackberry Holland book more than ever. The USA is rudderless andnot haooy with it;s President, and inept Gov’t agencies off the lease. Hackberry provides fictional guidance end encouragement for so manywhat need a voice of reasonand credibility toback up his actions. Please


Leave a Reply