The Hainish Cycle is a series of soft science fiction novels and short fiction by American author Ursula K. Le Guin. Eons ago, the Hainish people colonized many different worlds, including Terra (we know it as “Earth”), but their civilization collapsed and the knowledge that other human worlds existed was lost. The series explores alternative anthropological and sociological ideas.

The Hainish series began in 1964 with the short story Dowry of the Angyar (aka Semley’s Necklace). The first novel in the series is titled Rocannon’s World, published in 1966. The short stories in the series are collected in various collections like The Wind’s Twelve Quarters, A Fisherman of the Inland Sea and The Birthday of the World. Below is a list of Ursula Le Guin’s Hainish novels in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Hainish Cycle Books

Rocannon's World(1966)Description / Buy at
Planet of Exile(1966)Description / Buy at
City of Illusions(1967)Description / Buy at
The Left Hand of Darkness(1969)Description / Buy at
The Word for World is Forest(1972)Description / Buy at
The Dispossessed(1974)Description / Buy at
Four Ways to Forgiveness(1994)Description / Buy at
The Telling(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Hainish Cycle Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hainish Books

Leave a Reply