The Sandman is a dark fantasy comic book series written by British writer Neil Gaiman. It was published by DC Comics, under its Vertigo imprint. The series follows Dream of the Endless, who rules the world of dreams. The series is widely considered to be the best ever published by Vertigo. The series would spin-off into several other series, including series featuring Death, Lucifer and many more.

The Sandman series ran for 75 issues between January 1989 and March 1996. Gaiman’s contract stipulated that once he left DC, the series would end. Each of the issues have been collected into various graphic novels. Below is a list of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman graphic novels in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Neil Gaiman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sandman Graphic Novels

(By: Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean, P. Craig Russell, Garth Ennis, Jon J. Muth)

Preludes and Nocturnes(1989)Description / Buy at
The Doll's House(1990)Description / Buy at
The Absolute Sandman, Volume 1(1990)Description / Buy at
Dream Country(1991)Description / Buy at
Season of Mists(1992)Description / Buy at
A Game of You(1993)Description / Buy at
Fables and Reflections(1993)Description / Buy at
The Brief Lives(1993)Description / Buy at
Worlds' End(1995)Description / Buy at
The Wake(1996)Description / Buy at
The Kindly Ones(1996)Description / Buy at
Dustcovers: The Collected Sandman Covers, 1989-1996(1997)Description / Buy at
The Dream Hunters(1999)Description / Buy at
The Sandman Companion: A Dreamer's Guide to the Award-Winning Comic Series(1999)Description / Buy at
Endless Nights(2003)Description / Buy at
Annotated Sandman Vol. 1(2011)Description / Buy at
Overture(2015)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: The Deluxe Edition, Book One(2020)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: The Deluxe Edition, Book Two(2021)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: The Deluxe Edition, Book Three(2021)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: The Deluxe Edition, Book Four(2021)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: The Deluxe Edition, Book Five(2022)Description / Buy at
The Sandman, Book One(2022)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: Book Two(2022)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: Book Three(2022)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: Book Four(2022)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: Book Five(2023)Description / Buy at
The Sandman: Book Six(2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sandman Non-Fiction Books

The Sandman Companion(1999)Description / Buy at
The Quotable Sandman(2001)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Sandman Companion was written by Hy Bender, based on Neil Gaiman’s work.

If You Like Sandman Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sandman Books

Leave a Reply