Hap and Leonard by Joe R Lansdale
Hap and Leonard are the protagonists in a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Joe R. Lansdale. Although they have very different personalities, Hap Collins and Leonard Pine are best friends who live in the town of LaBorde, Texas, where they work for a P.I. named Marvin Hanson. Hap is a labourer who spent time in prison for draft dodging during Vietnam, while Leonard is a gay black man who served in Vietnam and has anger management issues – which Hap frequently has to calm him down from.

Joe R. Lansdale began his Hap and Leonard series in 1990 with the novel Savage Season. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Joe R. Lansdale’s Hap and Leonard books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Andrew Vachss releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Hap and Leonard Books

Savage Season(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mucho Mojo(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Two-Bear Mambo(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bad Chili(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rumble Tumble(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Captains Outrageous(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Vanilla Ride(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Devil Red(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hyenas(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Aim(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Honky Tonk Samurai(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Briar Patch Boogie(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miracles Ain't What They Used to Be(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Coco Butternut(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rusty Puppy(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cold Cotton(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Jackrabbit Smile(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Elephant of Surprise(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Born for Trouble(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sugar on the Bones(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Hap & Leonard Collections

Veil's Visit(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hap and Leonard(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hap and Leonard: Blood and Lemonade(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Veil’s Visit also has stories by Andrew Vachss.

If You Like Hap & Leonard Books, You’ll Love…

Hap & Leonard Synopsis: In Savage Season by Joe R. Lansdale (book 1 of the series), Hap Collins and Leonard Pine are best friends, but polar opposites. Hap is a white boy from East Texas who can’t get enough of Texas women. Leonard is a gay, black Vietnam vet. Put them together and trouble is bound to occur. And that’s what they want. When an ex-lover of Hap’s shows up with a plan to make a big score, Hap lets Leonard in on it… and that’s where the trouble begins.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hap & Leonard Books

Leave a Reply