Homer Kelly is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Jane Langton. Homer Kelly is a homicide detective turned philosophy professor at the prestigious Harvard University. The series combines a large knowledgebase with interesting characters, gentle humour, and a social conscience.

Jane Langton began her Homer Kelly series in 1964 with the novel The Transcendental Murder. It has also been known as The Minuteman Murder. The series consists of 18 books, with the last being Steeplechase in 2005. Below is a list of Jane Langton’s Homer Kelly books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Homer Kelly Books

The Transcendental Murder / The Minuteman Murder(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark Nantucket Noon(1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Memorial Hall Murder(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Natural Enemy(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Emily Dickinson is Dead(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Good and Dead(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at the Gardner(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dante Game(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
God in Concord(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Divine Inspiration(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shortest Day(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead as a Dodo(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Face on the Wall(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Thief of Venice(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at Monticello(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Escher Twist(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Deserter(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Steeplechase(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The Transcendental Murder was re-published as The Minuteman Murder.

If You Like Homer Kelly Books, You’ll Love…

Homer Kelly Synopsis: The Trescendental Murder is the first book in the Homer Kelly series by Jane Langton. The citizens of Concord, Massachusetts aren’t bored of history. For decades, the intellectuals of this little hamlet have never stopped endless debates about Concord’s favourite sons: Emerson, Hawthorne, Thoreau, and their contemporaries. Concord’s latter-day transcendental scholars are a strange bunch, but none is more peculiar than Homer Kelly, an expert on Emerson and on homicide. An old-fashioned murder is about to put both skills to the test. At a meeting of the town’s intellectuals, Ernest Goss produces a cache of saucy love letters written by the men and women of the transcendentalist sect. Although Homer chortles at the idea that Louisa May Alcott and Ralph Waldo Emerson might have had a fling, Goss insists the letters are real. He never gets a chance to prove it. Soon after he is found killed by a musket ball. The past may not be dead, but Goss certainly is.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Homer Kelly Books

Leave a Reply