Hosteen Storm is a series of science fiction adventure novels by American author Andre Norton, largely collaborated with New Zealand novelist Lyn McConchie. The series follows an ex-soldier named Hosteen Storm, who runs with a group of genetically altered animals that he can communicate with telepathically. The series is also known as the Beast Master series.

Andre Norton began her Beast Master series in 1959 with the novel The Beast Master. The series lasted five novels until Beast Master’s Quest, published in 2006. Below is a list of Andre Norton’s Hosteen Storm books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Beast Master/Hosteen Storm Books

The Beast Master(1959)Description / Buy at
Lord of Thunder(1962)Description / Buy at
Beast Master's Ark(2002)Description / Buy at
Beast Master's Circus(2004)Description / Buy at
Beast Master's Quest(2006)Description / Buy at

Note: From Beast Master’s Ark onwards, the series is co-authored by Lyn McConchie.

If You Like Beast Master Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hosteen Storm Books

One Response to “Order of Hosteen Storm Books”

  1. Mike Sheehan: 9 years ago

    The first 2 beastmaster novels by Andre Norton are excellent. The characters are deep and Navajo culture is used to bring the key characters alive. Hosteen Storm is moody, quiet and has an inner darkness to overcome. The planet and its cultures feel real. The last 3 novels, the collaborations, are drivel. There seems to be nothing of Norton in them. The characters are all one-dimensional, with an emotional age of around 6 years old. The Navajo have disappeared with the same characters now somehow interested in teenage street slang and juvenile sexual innuendo from off-world. The planet now seems like suburban Arizona. Very disappointing.


Leave a Reply