Hugh Corbett by Paul Doherty
Hugh Corbett is the lead character in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Paul Doherty (or P.C. Doherty). Corbett is the right-hand man and spy for King Edward I. The novels are set during the late 13th century and into the early 14th century.

Paul C. Doherty began his Hugh Corbett series in 1986 with the novel Satan in St. Mary’s. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Hugh Corbett’s books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Paul Doherty releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hugh Corbett Books

Satan in St Mary's(1986)Description / Buy at
The Crown in Darkness(1988)Description / Buy at
Spy in Chancery(1988)Description / Buy at
The Angel of Death(1989)Description / Buy at
The Prince of Darkness(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder Wears a Cowl(1992)Description / Buy at
The Assassin in the Greenwood(1993)Description / Buy at
The Song of a Dark Angel(1993)Description / Buy at
Satan's Fire(1995)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Hunt(1996)Description / Buy at
The Demon Archer(1999)Description / Buy at
The Treason of the Ghosts(2000)Description / Buy at
Corpse Candle(2001)Description / Buy at
The Magician's Death(2004)Description / Buy at
The Waxman Murders(2006)Description / Buy at
Nightshade(2008)Description / Buy at
The Mysterium(2010)Description / Buy at
The Peacock's Cry(2016)Description / Buy at
Dark Serpent(2016)Description / Buy at
The King's Writ(2017)Description / Buy at
Devil's Wolf(2018)Description / Buy at
Death's Dark Valley(2019)Description / Buy at
Hymn to Murder(2020)Description / Buy at
Mother Midnight(2021)Description / Buy at
Realm of Darkness(2022)Description / Buy at
Prince of Murders(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Hugh Corbett Books, You’ll Love…

Hugh Corbett Synopsis: Satan in St. Mary’s by P.C. Doherty is the first in the Hugh Corbett series. The year is 1284 and King Edward is dealing with the Pentangle movement founded by the rebel Simon de Montfort, who was killed in the Battle of Evesham in 1258. This Pentangle movement’s members are versed in the black arts and may behind the supposed suicide of Lawrence Duket – a loyal subject of Edward I. King Edward orders Chancellor Burnell to look into things, so he chooses Hugh Corbett to conduct the investigation. Corbett and manservant Ranulf must navigate the politics of medieval London’s underworld. Corbett must unravel this mystery before London falls under the control of the Pentangle.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hugh Corbett Books

Leave a Reply