Inspector Faro is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Alanna Knight. The series features Detective Inspector Jeremy Faro, and is set in Victorian Edinburgh. Alanna Knight conceived of the character while sitting in her Victorian home when a man passed by who she thought resembled a Victorian detective.

Alanna Knight began her Inspector Faro series in 1988 with the novel Enter Second Murderer. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Alanna Knight’s Inspector Faro books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector Faro Books

Enter Second Murderer(1988)Description / Buy at
Blood Line(1989)Description / Buy at
Deadly Beloved(1989)Description / Buy at
Killing Cousins(1990)Description / Buy at
A Quiet Death(1991)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Queen(1992)Description / Buy at
The Evil That Men Do(1993)Description / Buy at
The Missing Duchess(1994)Description / Buy at
The Bull Slayers(1995)Description / Buy at
Murder by Appointment(1997)Description / Buy at
The Coffin Lane Murders(1998)Description / Buy at
The Final Enemy(2003)Description / Buy at
Unholy Trinity / Death at Carasheen(2004)Description / Buy at
Faro and the Royals(2005)Description / Buy at
Murder in Paradise(2009)Description / Buy at
The Seal King Murders(2011)Description / Buy at
Murders Most Foul(2013)Description / Buy at
Akin to Murder(2016)Description / Buy at
The Dower House Mystery(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Faro Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector Faro Synopses: Enter Second Murderer by Alanna Knight is the first book in the Inspector Faro mystery series, set in Victorian-era Edinburgh. Looking to prove a convicted murderer innocent of a second murder, Detective Inspector Faro reopens the case and finds a lengthy list of suspects.

Blood Line is the second Inspector Faro novel by Alanna Knight. Inspector Faro’s investigation begins with an unidentifiable body, a pair of jewelled cameos and three decade old mystery surrounding a discovery in the old apartments that once belonged to Mary Queen of Scots.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Faro Books

Leave a Reply