Jack Dwyer is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by American author Ed Gorman. Jack Dwyer is a former cop-turned-private investigator, who made the career change when he developed a passion for acting. The series is set in the Midwestern United States.

Ed Gorman began his Jack Dwyer series in 1985 with the novel Rough Cut. The series lasted eight books, concluding in 1992 with The Reason Why. Below is a list of Ed Gorman’s Jack Dwyer books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Jack Dwyer Books

New, Improved Murder(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder Straight Up(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rough Cut(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in the Wings(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Autumn Dead(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Cry of Shadows(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Reason Why(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jack Dwyer Books, You’ll Love…

Jack Dwyer Synopses: Rough Cut is the first book in Ed Gorman’s Jack Dwyer series. When advertising exec Michael Ketchum falls for Cindy Traynor, the number one suspect in the murder of his business partner, he may be lining himself up as the murderer’s next victim.

New, Improved Murder by Ed Gorman is book 2 in the series. Jack Dwyer comes to the aid of his former love, Jane Branigan, after she is found in a state of shock holding a recently fired gun in close proximity to the body of her lover, advertising executive Stephen Elliot.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jack Dwyer Books

Leave a Reply