The Jack Taylor series is a series of hardboiled crime fiction novels by Irish novelist Ken Bruen. The series is set in Galway and it takes you on the adventures of a disgraced ex-cop working as a PI. The series also looks at the decline of the Catholic Church in Ireland as a social and political power.

The Jack Taylor series began in 2001 with The Guards. Bruen’s Jack Taylor novels have won numerous awards, including the Shamus Award, Edgar Award, Macavity Award and Barry Award. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ken Bruen’s Jack Taylor books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Ken Bruen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jack Taylor Books

The Guards(2001)Description / Buy at
The Killing of the Tinkers(2002)Description / Buy at
The Magdalen Martyrs(2003)Description / Buy at
The Dramatist(2004)Description / Buy at
The Dead Room(2005)Description / Buy at
Priest(2006)Description / Buy at
Cross(2007)Description / Buy at
Sanctuary(2008)Description / Buy at
The Devil(2010)Description / Buy at
Headstone(2011)Description / Buy at
Purgatory(2013)Description / Buy at
Green Hell(2015)Description / Buy at
The Emerald Lie(2016)Description / Buy at
The Ghosts of Galway(2017)Description / Buy at
In the Galway Silence(2018)Description / Buy at
Galway Girl(2019)Description / Buy at
A Galway Epiphany(2020)Description / Buy at
Galway Confidential(2024)Description / Buy at
The Dead Room was a limited edition story of which only 150 were released.

If You Like Jack Taylor Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jack Taylor Books

3 Responses to “Order of Jack Taylor Books”

  1. Jack burke: 3 years ago

    How interesting! My parents were born and raised just outside Galway city l had28 aunts and uncles so it will be fun reading for me. Thanks!


  2. joan7138: 10 years ago

    I just discovered the Jack Taylor television series on Netflix..watched all six episodes (all that was available) in one sitting. Best TV I have seen in a long time! Now I want to read all the Jack Taylor books! Usually I do it the other around, but I didn’t know the author Ken Bruen till now. Want to read EVERYTHING he has written!! I can’t tell you how great it is to find a new author (new to me)!!! Heading to the bookstore tomorrow!!


  3. kay3434: 10 years ago

    The Jack Taylor books are tremendous! I read them in a day and a half sometimes – intriguing, surprising endings, especially The Guards. Awesome! I am anticipating reading my fourth in the Jack Taylor series – The Dramatist. Love you, Ken Bruen!


Leave a Reply