Detective Jan Fabel by Craig Russell
Jan Fabel is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by British author Craig Russell. Jan Fabel heads the Murder Squad of the Hamburg Police in Hamburg, Germany. He is half-Scottish and was a historian prior to becoming a police officer. The series includes elements of history and mythology.

Craig Russell began his Jan Fabel series in 2005 with the novel Blood Eagle. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Craig Russell’s Jan Fabel books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Craig Russell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jan Fabel Books

Blood Eagle(2005)Description / Buy at
Brother Grimm(2006)Description / Buy at
Eternal(2007)Description / Buy at
The Carnival Master(2008)Description / Buy at
The Valkyrie Song(2009)Description / Buy at
A Fear Of Dark Water(2011)Description / Buy at
The Ghosts of Altona(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jan Fabel Books, You’ll Love…

Jan Fabel Synopsis: In Blood Eagle by Craig Russell (book 1 of the series), Kriminalhauptkommissar Jan Fabel receives an e-mail that reads, “Time is strange, is it not? I write and you read and we share the same moment. Yet, as I write this, Herr Hauptkommissar, you sleep and my next victim still lives. As you read it, she is already dead. Our dance continues…” The same gruesome ritualistic method of killing. The same mocking tone in the e-mails. Everything points to the same killer. But there is nothing concrete to link the two cases, except for the one e-mail.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jan Fabel Books

Leave a Reply