John Shakespeare by Rory Clements
John Shakespeare is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery/spy thriller novels by British novelist Rory Clements. The series is set during the Tudor era (16th century), featuring John Shakespeare, an intelligence agent.

Rory Clements began his John Shakespeare in 2009 with the novel Martyr. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Rory Clements’ John Shakespeare books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Rory Clements releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Shakespeare Books

Martyr(2009)Description / Buy at
Revenger(2010)Description / Buy at
Prince(2011)Description / Buy at
Traitor(2012)Description / Buy at
The Man in the Snow(2012)Description / Buy at
The Heretics(2013)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Man(2014)Description / Buy at
Holy Spy(2015)Description / Buy at
Chronologically. The Heretics takes place after Traitor.

If You Like John Shakespeare Books, You’ll Love…

Rory Clements Synopsis: Revenger is the second novel in the John Shakespeare series. England is at war with Spain, and Queen Elizabeth’s court is torn apart by brutal rivalries among ambitious young courtiers. John Shakespeare is dragged out of retirement to work for the Earl of Essex. His mission is to unravel the mystery behind the doomed Roanoke colony in North America, but instead, he uncovers a plot to kill the aging queen. With a plague devastating the country, Catholics being tortured, and John’s wife keeping secrets from him, Shakespeare has his own survival to secure.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Shakespeare Books

Leave a Reply